Sam Blackman by Mark de Castrique
Sam Blackman is the protagonist in a series of mystery novels by American novelist Mark de Castrique. Sam Blackman was a Chief Warrant Officer in the Criminal Investigation Detachment in the U.S. military. While serving in Iraq, he lost part of his leg. After getting sent to a veteran’s hospital in Ashville, North Carolina, Blackman gets the opportunity to start putting some of his detective skills to work solving murders.

Mark de Castrique began his Sam Blackman series in 2008 with the novel Blackman’s Coffin. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Mark de Castrique’s Sam Blackman books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Mark de Castrique releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sam Blackman Books

Blackman's Coffin(2003)Description / Buy at
The Fitzgerald Ruse(2009)Description / Buy at
The Sandburg Connection(2011)Description / Buy at
A Murder in Passing(2013)Description / Buy at
A Specter of Justice(2015)Description / Buy at
Hidden Scars(2017)Description / Buy at
Murder in Rat Alley(2019)Description / Buy at
Fatal Scores(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sam Blackman Books, You’ll Love…

Sam Blackman Synopsis: Blackman’s Coffin is the first novel in the Sam Blackman series by Mark de Castrique. After losing his leg in Iraq and being critical of his treatment, Sam Blackman gets shipped to Asheville, NC. An ex-marine who is also minus a leg named Tikima Robertson comes to him. She tells him about an opportunity to use some of his skills as an investigator; he just has to quit feeling sorry for himself. The next thing he knows, her body is found in the river. Her sister gives Sam a journal she had in her possession, which goes all the way back to 1919. The journal contains an entry where a white funeral director and his 12 year-old son help a black man named Elijah Robertson transport a relative of Elijah’s to a grave. 90 years ago, Elijah’s body was found in the same river that his great-great granddaughter Tikima’s was. Sam and Tikima’s sister Nakayla must look back into the history of Asheville, the legacy of the Vanderbilts at the Biltmore estate and of author Tom Wolfe, to find out the truth.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sam Blackman Books

Leave a Reply