Sean Dillon is a fictional character featured in a series of spy fiction novels by English author Jack Higgins. Dillon is an Irishman whose father was killed in crossfire between the IRA and the British, leading him to become an IRA member himself. He is a top-notch gunman, actor and a master of disguise.

The Sean Dillon series began in 1992 with Eye of the Storm. The series lasted 22 books until 2016’s The Midnight Bell. Below is a list of Jack Higgins’ Sean Dillon books in order of publication and in chronological order:

Publication Order of Sean Dillon Books

Eye of the Storm / Midnight Man(1992)Description / Buy at
Thunder Point(1993)Description / Buy at
On Dangerous Ground(1994)Description / Buy at
Angel of Death(1995)Description / Buy at
Drink with the Devil(1996)Description / Buy at
The President's Daughter(1997)Description / Buy at
The White House Connection(1998)Description / Buy at
Day of Reckoning(2000)Description / Buy at
Edge of Danger(2001)Description / Buy at
Midnight Runner(2002)Description / Buy at
Bad Company(2003)Description / Buy at
Dark Justice(2004)Description / Buy at
Without Mercy(2005)Description / Buy at
The Killing Ground(2008)Description / Buy at
Rough Justice(2008)Description / Buy at
A Darker Place(2009)Description / Buy at
The Wolf at the Door(2009)Description / Buy at
The Judas Gate(2010)Description / Buy at
A Devil is Waiting(2012)Description / Buy at
The Death Trade(2013)Description / Buy at
Rain on the Dead(2014)Description / Buy at
The Midnight Bell(2016)Description / Buy at

Note: Eye of the Storm is also known as Midnight Man.

If You Like Sean Dillon Books, You’ll Love…

Sean Dillon Synopses: Eye of the Storm is the first book in the Sean Dillon series from novelist Jack Higgins. Sean Dillon and Martin Brosnan, once comrades in the IRA, have diverged onto separate trajectories. While Dillon has become a skilled and versatile mercenary, offering his services to the highest bidder, including Saddam Hussein, Brosnan has honed his abilities in the realm of espionage, understanding Dillon’s strengths and vulnerabilities better than anyone else.

These two former allies turned adversaries are engaged in a deadly game, each using their unique skills to outmaneuver the other. What was once a friendship has transformed into a high-stakes battle of wits and survival. Their clash reaches a climactic point when a chilling event occurs—an actual attempt by Iraq to launch a mortar attack on the British war cabinet at 10 Downing Street in February 1991.

Thunder Point by Jack Higgins is the second book in the Sean Dillon series. In 1945, on the eve of Hitler’s suicide, a plan is set in motion for Nazi leader Martin Bormann to escape to South America using a German U-boat.

Fast forward to 1992. Sean Dillon, a skilled and resourceful terrorist, narrowly escapes execution by a Yugoslavian firing squad. However, his freedom comes at a price: he is coerced into assisting the British government in a mission to recover long-lost documents associated with Martin Bormann. The wreckage of Bormann’s U-boat has been located in the Caribbean, along with a hidden list of individuals sympathetic to the Nazi cause. This list includes prominent figures from the United States and Great Britain, possibly even implicating the Duke of Windsor himself.

The critical evidence is contained within a waterproof briefcase resting on the ocean floor. As the search for the briefcase intensifies, its potential revelations threaten to shake the foundations of governments and societies around the world. The pursuit of this hidden truth will trigger a chain reaction of events with far-reaching consequences. The stakes are high, and the hunt for the submerged secrets will reverberate across the globe, setting off shockwaves of intrigue, danger, and international tension.

On Dangerous Ground is book 3 in the Sean Dillon series by Jack Higgins. As the year 1997 looms on the horizon, the Prime Minister of England becomes privy to a classified document signed by Mao Tse-tung. This document holds the potential to postpone the impending Chinese takeover of Hong Kong by an additional century. Recognizing the immense strategic value of such an extension, the British government enlists the services of Sean Dillon, a former terrorist with a unique skill set.

Dillon’s mission is clear: prevent the disclosure of this document, ensuring it remains hidden from prying eyes. The stakes are high, as various parties in Hong Kong are eager to acquire the document and dismantle the delicate balance of global power. Dillon must race against time and navigate a treacherous landscape of intrigue, danger, and high-stakes politics to safeguard this secret from falling into the wrong hands.

With the fate of nations hanging in the balance, Dillon’s efforts will determine the course of history and the geopolitical landscape of the future. His mission becomes a pulse-pounding race to outwit adversaries and preserve a delicate equilibrium that could reshape the world’s trajectory.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sean Dillon Books

3 Responses to “Order of Sean Dillon Books”

  1. Roger David Newman: 6 years ago

    I love the Sean Dillon novels and also the Lee Child Jack Reacher ones similar hero’s but Reacher at 6ft 5in would dwarf Dillon at 6ft. But both are ruthless and take no prisoners.


  2. Callum Donaldson: 9 years ago

    Jack Higgins is the best. I love all the Sean Dillon novels, I like the way there is such a emphasis on bushmills whiskey, Krug, and the food. Plus he is tough… Keep up the great work Jack0


    • FhvnEd: 9 years ago

      That, plus his (Higgin’s) obsession with 25 caliber automatics equipped with non-existent Carswell silencers


Leave a Reply