Sean Duffy by Adrian McKinty
Sean Duffy is the protagonist in a series of crime fiction novels by Irish novelist Adrian McKinty. The series begins in the early 80s in Northern Ireland. Sean Duffy is a young Catholic detective who works for the Royal Ulster Constabulary – a largely Protestant police force.

Adrian McKinty began his Sean Duffy series in 2012 with the novel The Cold, Cold Ground. The series is currently ongoing. The series was originally planned for three novels and titled “The Troubles Trilogy,” but was later expanded. Below is a list of Adrian McKinty’s Sean Duffy books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Adrian McKinty releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detective Sean Duffy Books

The Cold Cold Ground(2012)Description / Buy at
I Hear the Sirens in the Street(2013)Description / Buy at
In the Morning I'll Be Gone(2014)Description / Buy at
Gun Street Girl(2015)Description / Buy at
Rain Dogs(2015)Description / Buy at
Police at the Station and They Don't Look Friendly(2017)Description / Buy at
The Detective Up Late(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sean Duffy Books, You’ll Love…

Sean Duffy/Troubles Trilogy Synopsis: The Cold Cold Ground is the first novel in the Detective Sean Duffy series by Adrian McKinty. It’s 1981 and Northern Ireland is on the brink of war. Margaret Thatcher’s government has plastered Belfast in soldiers, but that doesn’t stop the riots, bombings and attacks. Sean Duffy is a young, witty detective and a Catholic member of the mostly Protestant Royal Ulster Constabulary. He’s looking for a serial killer who preys upon gay men. As a Catholic member of the force, Duffy must face many different complications. In 1981, homosexuality is illegal in Northern Ireland. Then he discovers one of the victims had ties to the IRA, but was doing business with a member of the Protestant Ulster Volunteer Force.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sean Duffy Books

3 Responses to “Order of Sean Duffy Books”

  1. Brian mckinlay: 3 years ago

    Just completed the Inspector Duffy series for the second time after a couple of years.
    Forgotten some and remembered some.
    A great series with great characters and great stories,well done Adrian how about some more about Chief Inspector Duffy You know you want to.


  2. Daniel Gannon: 5 years ago

    Absolutely!!… excellent series!!


  3. Mongoose218: 5 years ago

    A really good series which takes you right into the Ireland of “the troubles” years….


Leave a Reply