Sue Barton is the protagonist in a series of young adult novels by American novelist Helen Dore Boylston. The series follows Sue Barton, as she starts out as a student nurse, and into her nursing career. Many of the characters were based on real life people that the author, Helen Dore Boylston, knew in real-life as a nurse herself, but she denies basing Sue Barton on herself.

Helen Dore Boylston began her Sue Barton series in 1936 with the novel Sue Barton, Student Nurse. The series lasted seven novels, concluding with Sue Barton, Staff Nurse. Below is a list of Helen Dore Boylston’s Sue Barton books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Sue Barton Books

Sue Barton, Student Nurse(1936)Description / Buy at
Sue Barton, Senior Nurse(1937)Description / Buy at
Sue Barton, Visiting Nurse(1938)Description / Buy at
Sue Barton, Rural Nurse(1939)Description / Buy at
Sue Barton, Superintendent of Nurses(1940)Description / Buy at
Sue Barton, Neighborhood Nurse(1949)Description / Buy at
Sue Barton, Staff Nurse(1952)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sue Barton Books, You’ll Love…

  • Carol Page
  • Cherry Ames
  • Kathy Martin

Sue Barton Synopses: Sue Barton, Visiting Nurse is the third book in the Sue Barton series by Helen Dore Boylston. Sue and her best friend, Kit, join the ranks of the Henry Street Visiting Nurse Service in New York to work in an old and crowded neighbourhood, but even her exciting career cannot make her forget Dr. Bill Barry.

Sue Barton, Rural Nurse by Helen Dore Boylston is book 4 in the series. Sue Barton must postpone her marriage to Dr. Barry until they can straighten out the medical and personal difficulties of his country practice.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sue Barton Books

Leave a Reply