The 87th Precinct is a series of novels by prolific American novelist Ed McBain (also known as Evan Hunter). It takes place in a fictional section of New York City called Isola, which was based on Manhattan. Similarly, instead of using the real names of the NYC boroughs, McBain has created his own boroughs; Calm’s Point (based on Brooklyn), Majesta (Queens), Riverhead (Bronx) and Bethtown (Staten Island). The books are considered part of the crime fiction and police procedural genres.

The 87th Precinct novel series started in 1956 with Cop Hater. The series continued all the way up until Hunter’s death in 2005, with usually one book published per year, but often multiple books being published in a single year. By the time the series was over, there were 54 novels in the series. Below is the entire 87th Precinct series in order of when they were first published:

Publication Order of 87th Precinct Books

Cop Hater(1956)Description / Buy at
The Mugger(1956)Description / Buy at
The Pusher(1956)Description / Buy at
The Con Man(1957)Description / Buy at
Killer's Choice(1957)Description / Buy at
Lady Killer(1958)Description / Buy at
Killer's Wedge(1958)Description / Buy at
Killer's Payoff(1958)Description / Buy at
King's Ransom(1959)Description / Buy at
'Til Death(1959)Description / Buy at
Give the Boys a Great Big Hand(1960)Description / Buy at
The Heckler(1960)Description / Buy at
See Them Die(1960)Description / Buy at
Lady, Lady, I Did It!(1961)Description / Buy at
The Empty Hours(1962)Description / Buy at
Like Love(1962)Description / Buy at
Ten Plus One(1963)Description / Buy at
Ax / Axe(1963)Description / Buy at
He Who Hesitates(1965)Description / Buy at
Doll(1965)Description / Buy at
Eighty Million Eyes(1966)Description / Buy at
Fuzz(1968)Description / Buy at
Shotgun(1968)Description / Buy at
Jigsaw(1970)Description / Buy at
Hail, Hail, the Gang's All Here!(1971)Description / Buy at
Sadie When She Died(1972)Description / Buy at
Let's Hear It for the Deaf Man(1973)Description / Buy at
Hail to the Chief(1973)Description / Buy at
Bread(1974)Description / Buy at
Blood Relatives(1975)Description / Buy at
So Long as You Both Shall Live(1976)Description / Buy at
Long Time No See(1977)Description / Buy at
Calypso(1979)Description / Buy at
Ghosts(1980)Description / Buy at
Heat(1981)Description / Buy at
McBain Brief(1982)Description / Buy at
Ice(1983)Description / Buy at
Lightning(1984)Description / Buy at
And All Through The House(1984)Description / Buy at
Eight Black Horses(1985)Description / Buy at
Poison(1987)Description / Buy at
Lullaby(1989)Description / Buy at
Vespers(1989)Description / Buy at
Tricks(1989)Description / Buy at
Widows(1991)Description / Buy at
Kiss(1992)Description / Buy at
Mischief(1993)Description / Buy at
Romance(1995)Description / Buy at
Nocturne(1997)Description / Buy at
The Big Bad City(1998)Description / Buy at
The Last Dance(1999)Description / Buy at
Money, Money, Money(2001)Description / Buy at
Fat Ollie's Book(2002)Description / Buy at
The Frumious Bandersnatch(2003)Description / Buy at
Hark!(2004)Description / Buy at
Fiddlers(2005)Description / Buy at

If You Like 87th Precinct Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of 87th Precinct Books

One Response to “Order of 87th Precinct Books”

  1. D.A. Leipply: 3 years ago

    Currently reading this Series of Books. What an intriguing plot and interesting characters. I can’t wait to start the next book.


Leave a Reply