Thomas Chaloner by Susanna Gregory
Thomas Chaloner is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by English author Susanna Gregory. Set following the Restoration of Charles II in London, Chaloner is a detective and (reluctant) spy. Although the character is fictional, he comes from a real-life historical family.

Susanna Gregory debuted her Thomas Chaloner character in 2006 with the novel A Conspiracy of Violence. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Susanna Gregory’s Thomas Chaloner books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Susanna Gregory releases a new book at

Publication Order of Thomas Chaloner Books

A Conspiracy of Violence(2006)Description / Buy at
Blood on the Strand(2007)Description / Buy at
The Butcher of Smithfield(2008)Description / Buy at
The Westminster Poisoner(2009)Description / Buy at
A Murder on London Bridge(2009)Description / Buy at
The Body in the Thames(2010)Description / Buy at
The Piccadilly Plot(2012)Description / Buy at
Death in St James's Park(2013)Description / Buy at
Murder on High Holborn(2014)Description / Buy at
The Cheapside Corpse(2015)Description / Buy at
The Chelsea Strangler(2016)Description / Buy at
The Executioner of St Paul's(2017)Description / Buy at
Intrigue in Covent Garden(2019)Description / Buy at
The Clerkenwell Affair(2020)Description / Buy at
The Pudding Lane Plot(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Thomas Chaloner Books, You’ll Love…

Thomas Chalinor Synopsis: A Conspiracy Of Violence is the first book in the Thomas Chalinor series by Susanna Gregory. The dour days of Cromwell are over. Charles II is well established at White Hall Palace, his mistress at hand in rooms over the Holbein bridge, the heads of some of the regicides on public display. London seethes with new energy, freed from the strictures of the Protectorate, but many of its inhabitants have lost their livelihoods. One is Thomas Chaloner, a reluctant spy for the feared Secretary of State, John Thurloe, and now returned from Holland in desperate need of employment. His erstwhile boss, knowing he has many enemies at court, recommends Thomas to Lord Clarendon, but in return demands that Thomas keep him informed of any plot against him. But what Thomas discovers is that Thurloe had sent another ex-employee to White Hall and he is dead, supposedly murdered by footpads near the Thames. Chaloner volunteers to investigate his killing: instead he is despatched to the Tower to unearth the gold buried by the last Governor. He discovers not treasure, but evidence that greed and self-interest are uppermost in men’s minds whoever is in power, and that his life has no value to either side.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Thomas Chaloner Books

Leave a Reply