Trace by Warren Murphy
The Trace series is a series of crime fiction novels by American novelist Warren Murphy. The main character of the series is Devlin Tracy, who is an insurance investigator based out of Las Vegas, Nevada. The character is identical to both Julian “Digger” Burroughs in Murphy’s Digger book series and Daedulus Patrick Murphy from the ABC television show Murphy’s Law that Warren Murphy created (on which Lee Goldberg worked as a writer). Murphy is also the creator of the long-running Destroyer series. All three are drunks, insurance investigators, have Italian-Jewish prostitutes for girlfriends who are smarter than him. And none of the characters like their mother.

Warren Murphy debuted his Devlin “Trace” Tracy character in 1983 with the novel Trace. The series lasted seven novels, concluding in 1987 with the novel Getting Up with Fleas. Below is a list of Warren Murphy’s Trace novels in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Trace Books

Trace(1983)Description / Buy at
And 47 Miles of Rope(1984)Description / Buy at
When Elephants Forget(1984)Description / Buy at
Pigs Get Fat(1985)Description / Buy at
Once a Mutt(1985)Description / Buy at
Too Old a Cat(1986)Description / Buy at
Getting Up with Fleas(1987)Description / Buy at

If You Like Trace Books, You’ll Love…

Trace Synopsis: In Trace by Warren Murphy, Devlin Tracy is employed by an insurance company as an investigator. The company is willing to look past his drinking problems, gambling problems and women problems because he gets the job done. His next job is to find out if a doctor is killing his own patients. Sometimes the most normal of people have the biggest of secrets to keep.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Trace Books

Leave a Reply