Virgin River is a series of contemporary romance novels by American novelist Robyn Carr. The series is set in the fictional town of Virgin River. The series was adapted into a Netflix original series.

The Virgin River series began in 2007 with the title novel. The series is ongoing. Below is a list of Robyn Carr’s books in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronology):

Get notified when Robyn Carr releases a new book at

Publication Order of Virgin River Books

Virgin River(2007)Description / Buy at
Shelter Mountain(2007)Description / Buy at
Whispering Rock(2007)Description / Buy at
A Virgin River Christmas(2008)Description / Buy at
Second Chance Pass(2009)Description / Buy at
Temptation Ridge(2009)Description / Buy at
Paradise Valley(2009)Description / Buy at
Under the Christmas Tree(2009)Description / Buy at
Forbidden Falls(2009)Description / Buy at
'Tis The Season(2010)Description / Buy at
Angel's Peak(2010)Description / Buy at
Happy New Year in Virgin River(2010)Description / Buy at
Moonlight Road(2010)Description / Buy at
Sheltering Hearts(2010)Description / Buy at
Midnight Confessions(2010)Description / Buy at
Promise Canyon(2010)Description / Buy at
Wild Man Creek(2011)Description / Buy at
Harvest Moon(2011)Description / Buy at
Bring Me Home for Christmas(2011)Description / Buy at
Hidden Summit(2011)Description / Buy at
Redwood Bend(2012)Description / Buy at
Sunrise Point(2012)Description / Buy at
My Kind of Christmas(2012)Description / Buy at
Return to Virgin River(2020)Description / Buy at
Holidays in Virgin River(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Virgin River Books, You’ll Love…

Virgin River Synopses: Virgin River is the first book in Robyn Carr’s Virgin River series. Virgin River, a tranquil haven embraced by towering California redwoods and serene rivers, is in search of a dedicated midwife/nurse practitioner to make a meaningful impact on its community of six hundred residents. A charming rent-free cabin nestled in this picturesque landscape awaits the chosen candidate.

For Melinda Monroe, recently widowed and seeking solace from her grief, this opportunity seems like a lifeline. Envisioning a fresh start and a chance to reignite her passion for nursing, she embarks on a journey to Virgin River. However, her dreams quickly unravel as the reality falls short—the cabin is dilapidated, the terrain treacherous, and the local doctor, not welcoming.

Disheartened by the initial setback, Mel contemplates leaving town. Yet, a twist of fate intervenes when an abandoned infant is discovered on a doorstep, prompting her to stay. As Mel’s path intertwines with that of Jack Sheridan, a former marine with his own story to tell, Virgin River begins to weave its magic, turning fleeting intentions into unwavering commitments.

Shelter Mountain by Robyn Carr is book 2 in the series. In the quiet hours of closing Jack’s Bar, John “Preacher” Middleton’s routine is disrupted by an unexpected arrival—a woman and her young son seeking refuge from the rain-drenched night. With the keen instincts of a marine who has confronted his share of hardship, Preacher immediately senses the urgency of the situation. The woman’s battered appearance speaks volumes, igniting a protective fire within him. But his response goes beyond mere duty; there’s an unexplainable connection that transcends the moment.

Paige Lassiter, the woman in question, has unwittingly touched a chord deep within Preacher, a man known for his resilience and stoicism. The flood of emotions she stirs in him forces Preacher to confront a part of himself he has long kept guarded. As their paths become intertwined, Preacher’s unwavering loyalty, instilled by the marines’ creed of Semper Fidelis—always faithful—takes center stage.

However, the stakes escalate when Paige’s past resurfaces in the form of her ex-husband, casting a shadow over their newfound connection. Preacher’s conviction that some things are worth fighting for becomes a resounding call to action, as he faces down a threat that challenges not only his sense of duty, but also the burgeoning bond he shares with Paige and her son.

Whispering Rock by Robyn Carr is the third book in her Virgin River series. In the refuge of Virgin River, Brie Sheridan finds solace and safety, seeking a respite from the traumatic ordeal she endured as a Sacramento prosecutor. Despite her formidable strength and unwavering courage, there are lingering fears that continue to haunt her.

Mike Valenzuela, an LAPD officer scarred by a serious injury sustained in the line of duty, makes a life-altering decision to embrace a new chapter in Virgin River as its first police officer. For a man who has weathered two divorces and countless fleeting relationships, Mike’s heart yearns for the stability and lasting happiness that have eluded him. He aspires to find the profound commitment and deep connection that his fellow marine friends have discovered—a love that can truly anchor his heart.

Driven by a powerful desire to help Brie break free from the shackles of her painful memories, Mike steps forward as a steadfast source of support. With a blend of passion, strength, and tenderness, he pledges to repay the selflessness she has shown him by offering her a fresh start and a love that knows no bounds.

Mike’s determination to be Brie’s unwavering ally and the promise of a shared future pave the way for their journey toward healing and renewal. As he dedicates himself to winning her heart and aiding her recovery, Mike becomes a guiding light in Brie’s pursuit of a brighter tomorrow—one where the shadows of the past are replaced by the enduring warmth of love and a newfound beginning.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Virgin River Books

2 Responses to “Order of Virgin River Books”

  1. Bob: 2 years ago

    Luke has a Harley in Temptation Ridge . I don’t think Walt has one.


  2. ruth foster: 8 years ago

    what book had the story of walt the motorcycle guy?


Leave a Reply