Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani is a Nigerian essayist, humorist, journalist, and most important to our interests: novelist. She is best known for her first novel, I Do Not Come to You by Chance which won numerous awards and was named one of the best books to come in 2009.

Writing is a big part of Nwaubani’s life as well as her family’s, her mother’s cousin was Flora Nwapa, the first female African writer to publish a book. She attend boarding school at the Federal Government Girls College Owerri and later studied at the University of Ibadan where she focused on psychology. She began writing at an early age and actually made her first income from writing at the age of 13 after she won a writing competition. She also worked on the editorial staff of Nigeria’s now NEXT newspapers after college.

Get notified when Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

I Do Not Come to You by Chance (2009)Description / Buy at
Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree (2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani Books, You’ll Love…

Nwaubani’s first novel is the deeply moving I Do Not Come to You by Chance. This was her debut novel and the one that has fans begging for more. The book tells the story of a young man, his family who loves him, and the crazy world of Nigerian email scams. The book tells of Kingsley Ibe who is the oldest son who has the expectations that come with that as he finishes university. Money struggles haunt him as he can’t take care of his parents, his siblings, or even marry the love of his life as the financial situation in Nigeria at this time is really rough. In an attempt to solve his problems, Kingsley will turn to an uncle known as Cash Daddy who is flush with cash thanks to email scams. Kingsley will have to make some hard decisions on what’s really important in life to do the things he believes he needs to do.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani Books

Leave a Reply