Alan Carter is an Australian author best known for his Cato Kwong series. The series follows a Detective Senior Sargent named Cato Kwong as he works in the Western Australian town of Fremantle.

Carter was born in 1959 in the UK, but he would later move to Australia which he would make his home. He went to Sunderland Polytechnic where he majored in communication studies and began making television documentaries after graduation. He wrote his first novel, Prime Cut which was a finalist for the Dagger Award for Best Debut, was runner-up in the Penguin Crime Writing Competition, and won the Ned Kelly prize for Best Fiction.

Get notified when Alan Carter releases a new book at

Publication Order of Cato Kwong Books

Publication Order of Nick Chester Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Layman's Guide to Greek Heroes (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

White Knuckle Ride(2014)Description / Buy at
Dark Deeds Down Under(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Alan Carter Books, You’ll Love…

The first book in the Cato Kwong series is Prime Cut. We meet Kwong as a disgraced former cop, left out in the cold by the force after a frame-up. He’s brought back in to help solve a case as a body washed up on the shores of the Great Southern Ocean. This book has been praised as it addresses some of the issues that afflict small mining towns in Australia. The book manages to have a level of gallows humor while also touching on real life issues that are important in Australia like immigration, racism, and the economic crisis.

Cato Kwong returns in Getting Warmer which brings the detective to Boom Town, the city of millionaires. He’s on the case of a missing 15-year old and the case will lead him into all sorts of strange places. A psychopath suspect that winds up dead, himself the victim of a rather gruesome murder. A colleague who keeps making mistakes that get the squad in deep water. A pig corpse. This book really has it all and is another strong mystery entry for Alan Carter.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alan Carter Books

Leave a Reply