Carol J. Perry is an American author best known for writing the Witch City Mystery series. The series began with Caught Dead Handed in 2014 and is set in the infamous town of Salem and involves a mysterious cat named O’Ryan.

Perry had a love of reading from a young age and would even ask Santa for books as a child. She always knew that she wanted to be a writer and went on to work for Southern Travel Magazine. It was while on an assignment for the magazine that she got the inspiration for her first young adult novel, Sand Castle Summer. That lead to many more books and her love of mysteries ultimately lead her to the Witch City Mystery series.

Get notified when Carol J. Perry releases a new book at

Publication Order of Haunted Haven Mysteries Books

Publication Order of Witch City Mysteries Books

Caught Dead Handed (2014)Description / Buy at
Tails, You Lose (2015)Description / Buy at
Look Both Ways (2015)Description / Buy at
Murder Go Round (2017)Description / Buy at
Grave Errors (2017)Description / Buy at
It Takes a Coven (2018)Description / Buy at
Bells, Spells, and Murders (2018)Description / Buy at
Final Exam (2019)Description / Buy at
Late Checkout (2019)Description / Buy at
Murder, Take Two (2020)Description / Buy at
See Something (2021)Description / Buy at
'Til Death (2022)Description / Buy at
Now You See It (2023)Description / Buy at
Death Scene (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sand Castle Summer (1988)Description / Buy at
13 And Loving It (1989)Description / Buy at
Make-Believe Love (1989)Description / Buy at
Going Overboard (1991)Description / Buy at
One Sister Too Many (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Seasmoke(2006)Description / Buy at
Halloween Cupcake Murder(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Carol J. Perry Books, You’ll Love…

Caught Dead Handed is the first book in the Witch City Mystery series and focuses on Lee Barrett who makes grew up in the famous witch town of Salem, Massachusetts. Life takes her back to her hometown when she goes to reply for a job as a TV reporter. The only job open is for a call-in psychic to host the late night horror movies and she reluctantly takes the job. She has no background in the supernatural, but when she looks into the obsidian ball she’s using as a prop she starts to see real events. With a killer on the loose, she sets her sights on unmasking them.

A great book in the series is Murder Go Round. In this book, Lee and Aunt Ibby head to a storage auction where the two win a locker and uncover a trove of beautiful curiosities, including a stunning wooden carousel horse with gentle eyes and fading paint. It is not long until the sight of a silver samovar awakens her psychic abilities and conjures visions of murder and give her another case.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Carol J. Perry Books

Leave a Reply