Cath Staincliffe (Photo Credit: Paul Herrmann)
Cath Staincliffe is a British author of crime fiction novels. She writes the Sal Kilkenny series. When she was a child in Bradford, Cath wanted to work with insects, then wanted to be a trapeze artist and finally decided she wanted to become an actress when she was eight years old. She earned her Drama and Theatre Arts degree from Birmingham University and promptly moved to Manchester. Cath was also a writer for the ITV police drama series Blue Murder. She is a founding member of the Murder Squad group of crime writers from the North of England. Cath enjoys reading, hill-walking, gardening and dancing. She lives in Manchester with her family.

Cath Staincliffe became a published novelist in 1994 with the novel Looking for Trouble, beginning her Sal Kilkenny series. The novel was shortlisted for the CWA’s John Creasey Award for Best First Novel. Below is a list of Cath Staincliffe’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Cath Staincliffe releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detectives Donovan & Young Books

Publication Order of Sal Kilkenny Books

Looking for Trouble (1994)Description / Buy at
Go Not Gently (1997)Description / Buy at
Dead Wrong (1998)Description / Buy at
Stone Cold Red Hot (2001)Description / Buy at
Towers of Silence (2002)Description / Buy at
Bitter Blue (2003)Description / Buy at
Missing (2007)Description / Buy at
Crying Out Loud (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Janine Lewis Books

Publication Order of Scott & Bailey Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Trio (2002)Description / Buy at
The Kindest Thing (2010)Description / Buy at
Witness (2011)Description / Buy at
Split Second (2012)Description / Buy at
Blink of an Eye (2013)Description / Buy at
Letters To My Daughter's Killer (2014)Description / Buy at
Half the World Away (2015)Description / Buy at
The Silence Between Breaths (2016)Description / Buy at
The Girl in the Green Dress (2017)Description / Buy at
Fear of Falling (2018)Description / Buy at
Quiet Acts of Violence (2020)Description / Buy at
The Lost Girls of St. Ann's (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories: A Murder Squad Anthology(2011)Description / Buy at
Deadly Pleasures(2013)Description / Buy at
CWA Anthology of Short Stories: Mystery Tour(2017)Description / Buy at
Many Deadly Returns(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Cath Staincliffe Books, You’ll Love…

Cath Staincliffe Synopsis: Make Believe is a 154-page novel based on the Blue Murder ITV police drama series, starring Caroline Quentin as DCI Janine Lewis. It’s been nine days since three year-old Sammy Wray went missing in Manchester when DCI Janine Lewis is called to a street. It is there that she sees the toddler’s body. The investigation is tough, and Janine’s personal life makes it even more difficult.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Cath Staincliffe Books

Leave a Reply