Catherine Cookson
Catherine Cookson (1906-1998) was an English author of historical fiction novels and the author of the Mary Ann Shaughnessy series. She grew up the illegitimate daughter of an impoverished woman named Kate, whom she was led to believe was her older sister. Catherine was known as a regional writer, writing specifically for readers from the North of England. Of all of her many accolades, undoubtedly the greatest of all of them is being named a Dame of the British Empire in 1993.

Catherine Cookson became a published novelist in 1950 with the novel Kate Hannigan. She continued to write up until her death and her final work was published in 2002. Below is a list of Catherine Cookson’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Kate Hannigan Books

Kate Hannigan (1950)Description / Buy at
Kate Hannigan's Girl (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Mary Ann Shaughnessy Books

A Grand Man (1954)Description / Buy at
The Lord and Mary Ann (1956)Description / Buy at
The Devil and Mary Ann (1958)Description / Buy at
Love and Mary Ann (1961)Description / Buy at
Life and Mary Ann (1962)Description / Buy at
Marriage and Mary Ann (1964)Description / Buy at
Mary Ann's Angels (1965)Description / Buy at
Mary Ann and Bill (1967)Description / Buy at
Bill and the Mary Ann Shaughnessy (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Mallen Trilogy Books

The Mallen Streak (1973)Description / Buy at
The Mallen Girl (1973)Description / Buy at
The Mallen Litter / The Mallen Lot (1974)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Tiller Trotter Trilogy Books

Tilly Trotter / Tilly (1980)Description / Buy at
Tilly Trotter Wed / Tilly Wed (1981)Description / Buy at
Tilly Trotter Widowed / Tilly Alone (1982)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Hamilton Trilogy Books

Publication Order of The Bailey Chronicles Books

Bill Bailey (1986)Description / Buy at
Bill Bailey's Lot (1987)Description / Buy at
Bill Baileys Daughter (1989)Description / Buy at
The Bondage of Love (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Fifteen Streets (1952)Description / Buy at
Colour Blind (1953)Description / Buy at
Maggie Rowan (1954)Description / Buy at
Rooney (1957)Description / Buy at
The Menagerie (1958)Description / Buy at
Fanny McBride (1959)Description / Buy at
Fenwick Houses (1960)Description / Buy at
The Garment (1962)Description / Buy at
Heritage of Folly (As: Catherine Marchant) (1962)Description / Buy at
The Blind Miller (1963)Description / Buy at
House of Men (As: Catherine Marchant) (1963)Description / Buy at
The House on the Fens / Fen Tiger (As: Catherine Marchant) (1963)Description / Buy at
The Wingless Bird (1964)Description / Buy at
Hannah Massey (1964)Description / Buy at
Evil at Roger's Cross / The Iron Facade (1965)Description / Buy at
The Long Corridor (1965)Description / Buy at
Matty Doolin (1965)Description / Buy at
The Unbaited Trap (1966)Description / Buy at
Katie Mulholland's Journey (1967)Description / Buy at
Slinky Jane (1967)Description / Buy at
Joe & the Gladiator (1968)Description / Buy at
The Round Tower (1968)Description / Buy at
The Nice Bloke (1969)Description / Buy at
The Glass Virgin / The Glassmaker's Daughter (1969)Description / Buy at
Invitation (1970)Description / Buy at
The Nipper (1970)Description / Buy at
The Dwelling Place (1971)Description / Buy at
Feathers in the Fire (1971)Description / Buy at
Pure as the Lily (1972)Description / Buy at
Blue Baccy (1973)Description / Buy at
Our John Willie (1974)Description / Buy at
The Invisible Cord (1975)Description / Buy at
Miss Martha Mary Crawford (As:Catherine Marchant) (1975)Description / Buy at
The Gambling Man (1975)Description / Buy at
The Tide of Life (1976)Description / Buy at
Mrs Flannagan's Trumpet (1976)Description / Buy at
The Slow Awakening (As:Catherine Marchant) (1976)Description / Buy at
The Girl (1977)Description / Buy at
Go Tell It to Mrs Golightly (1977)Description / Buy at
The Cinder Path (1978)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Cried (1979)Description / Buy at
Lanky Jones (1980)Description / Buy at
The Whip (1982)Description / Buy at
The Black Velvet Gown (1984)Description / Buy at
The Bannaman Legacy / Dinner of Herbs (1985)Description / Buy at
The Moth / The Thorman Inheritance (1986)Description / Buy at
Parson's Daughter (1987)Description / Buy at
Rory's Fortune (1988)Description / Buy at
The Harrogate Secret (1988)Description / Buy at
The Cultured Handmaiden (1988)Description / Buy at
The Black Candle (1989)Description / Buy at
The Spaniard's Gift (1989)Description / Buy at
The Gillyvors / Daughter of Scandal (1990)Description / Buy at
My Beloved Son (1991)Description / Buy at
Love Child (1991)Description / Buy at
The Rag Nymph (1991)Description / Buy at
The House of Women (1992)Description / Buy at
The Maltese Angel (1992)Description / Buy at
Year of the Virgins (1993)Description / Buy at
The Golden Straw (1993)Description / Buy at
Justice Is A Woman (1994)Description / Buy at
The Tinker's Girl (1994)Description / Buy at
The Obsession (1995)Description / Buy at
A Ruthless Need (1995)Description / Buy at
The Upstart (1996)Description / Buy at
The Branded Man (1996)Description / Buy at
The Bonny Dawn (1996)Description / Buy at
The Desert Crop (1997)Description / Buy at
An Unsuitable Match (1997)Description / Buy at
The Lady on My Left / The Mists of Memory (1997)Description / Buy at
The Solace of Sin (1998)Description / Buy at
Riley (1998)Description / Buy at
The Blind Years (1998)Description / Buy at
The Thursday Friend (1999)Description / Buy at
A House Divided (1999)Description / Buy at
Rosie Of The River (2000)Description / Buy at
The Silent Lady (2001)Description / Buy at
Saint Christopher and the Gravedigger (2017)Description / Buy at
The Rag Maid (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Simple Soul and Other Stories (2001)Description / Buy at
Just a Saying (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Nancy Nutall and The Mongrel (1990)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Our Kate (1969)Description / Buy at
Catherine Cookson Country (1986)Description / Buy at
Let Me Make Myself Plain (1990)Description / Buy at
Plainer Still (1995)Description / Buy at
My Land of the North (1999)Description / Buy at
Kate's Daughter: The Real Catherine Cookson (With: Piers Dudgeon) (2003)Description / Buy at
Before I Go (2017)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Mallen Litter was also published as The Mallen Lot. Tilly Trotter Wed was also shortened to Tilly Wed. Tilly Trotter Widowed was re-published as Tilly Alone. The Moth was also known as The Thorman Inheritance. The House on the Fens was also titled The Fen Tiger. Evil at Roger’s Cross was also known as The Iron Facade.

The novels Heritage of Folly, The House of Men, The House on the Fens, Evil at Roger’s Cross, The Long Corridor, Miss Martha Mary Crawford and The Slow Awakening were originally written under the pen name of Catherine Marchant.

If You Like Catherine Cookson Books, You’ll Love…

Catherine Cookson Synopsis: In Rooney by Catherine Cookson, Rooney Smith is a single 35 year-old dustman. He lives the simple life – he has his job and two furnished rooms. But when he decides to move in with Ma Howlett, his formerly simple life begins to get more complicated.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Catherine Cookson Books

Leave a Reply