Chris d'Lacey
Chris d’Lacey is an English author of children’s books, including fantasy novels. He writes the Last Dragon Chronicles, Dragons of Wayward Crescent and Unicorne Files series. Chris never wrote fiction until he was 32, when he wrote a 250,000 word story for his wife, but it would be another seven years before he would write any more fiction – a contest entry (which became A Hole at the Pole). Chris has won the Carnegie Medal, Rotherham Children’s Book Award and Books Factor Award and has been given an honourary doctorate from the University of Leicester, where he still works.

Chris d’Lacey became a published author when he submitted an entry to a contest to win £2,000, but did not win. Despite this, a publisher did purchase the book, which was A Hole at the Pole. The picture book was published in 1994. His first novel was Henry Spaloosh! (illustrated by Philip Reeve), which was released in 1998. Below is a list of Chris d’Lacey’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Chris d'Lacey releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Last Dragon Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Last Dragon Chronicles Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of The Dragons of Wayward Crescent Books

Publication Order of Unicorne Files Books

A Dark Inheritance (2014)Description / Buy at
Alexander's Army (2015)Description / Buy at
A Crown of Dragons (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Erth Dragons Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Henry Spaloosh! (1998)Description / Buy at
Fly, Cherokee, Fly (1998)Description / Buy at
The Snail Patrol (1998)Description / Buy at
The Table Football League (1998)Description / Buy at
Riverside United (1999)Description / Buy at
Lofty (1999)Description / Buy at
From E to You (2000)Description / Buy at
Scupper Hargreaves, Football Genie (2000)Description / Buy at
Pawnee Warrior (2002)Description / Buy at
The Salt Pirates of Skegness (2002)Description / Buy at
The Prompter (2003)Description / Buy at
Falling for Mandy (2003)Description / Buy at
Horace (2004)Description / Buy at
Shrinking Ralph Perfect. Chris D'Lacey (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

On Me 'ead, Santa! (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

A Hole At The Pole (1994)Description / Buy at
Juggling with Jeremy (1996)Description / Buy at
A Break in the Chain (1998)Description / Buy at
Bubble and Float (1999)Description / Buy at
Dexter's Journey (2000)Description / Buy at
Franklin's Bear (2003)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Notes: Rain and Fire: A Guide to The Last Dragon Chronicles was co-authored with Jay d’Lacey. From E to You was written with Linda Newbery.

If You Like Chris d’Lacey Books, You’ll Love…

Chris d’Lacey Synopsis: In Henry Spaloosh! by Chris d’Lacey, Henry is a horrible swimmer. He’s capable of splashing and kicking about, but all he ends up doing is sinking. Wednesday afternoons are the worst for Henry, as that’s when his swimming lessons are. So why is he called Henry Spaloosh, anyway?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Chris d’Lacey Books

Leave a Reply