Claire McGowan is an acclaimed crime fiction writer who had her debut with the 2012 thriller, The Fall. She is the author of the Paula McGuire series of novels. She also maintains her personal blog which is a great source for up and coming or wannabe writers.

Claire studied linguistics at university. She attended Oxford University where she studied English and French, even moving to France for a year for her studies. She then spent some time in China before releasing her first book. The book was a major success, earning praise from Lee Child who called her a “knockout new talent”, and now she is a full-time author.

Get notified when Claire McGowan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Paula Maguire Books

The Lost (2013)Description / Buy at
The Dead Ground (2014)Description / Buy at
The Silent Dead (2015)Description / Buy at
Controlled Explosions (2015)Description / Buy at
A Savage Hunger (2016)Description / Buy at
Blood Tide (2017)Description / Buy at
The Killing House (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Fall (2012)Description / Buy at
What You Did (2019)Description / Buy at
The Other Wife (2019)Description / Buy at
The Push (2020)Description / Buy at
I Know You (2021)Description / Buy at
Pride & Prejudice on Social Media (With: Sarah Day) (2021)Description / Buy at
Are You Awake? (2022)Description / Buy at
Let Me In (2023)Description / Buy at
Truth Truth Lie (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Vanishing Triangle (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Off The Record 2 - At The Movies - A Charity Anthology(2012)Description / Buy at
Deadly Pleasures(2013)Description / Buy at
Belfast Noir(2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Claire McGowan Books, You’ll Love…

The Fall focuses on Charlotte who is the kind of person who nothing bad ever happens to, until the day that it does. Her fiance Dan is hiding a secret and the pressure of it is about to push him over the edge. Charlotte’s life is changed forever when her husband is arrested for killing a nightclub owner. Without knowing what to do next, a stranger named Keisha shows up on her doorstep. She has a story that will convince Charlotte of her fiance’s innocence and send her on a dangerous journey to clear his name.

The first book in the Paula Maguire series is called The Lost. This book sees forensic psychologist Paula Maguire returning to the hometown that she left years before as two teenage girls have gone missing. The town fears that this could be the work of a serial killer, but the truth might be much darker. Paula is trying to concentrate on the case while she is surrounded by people and places that she tried to forget. Is there a link between these disappearances and another incident in 1985? The truth lies in the town’s dark past.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Claire McGowan Books

Leave a Reply