Clare MacKintosh is a former police officer and public order commander who bought that life behind her to write. She had worked as the public order commander as well as in the CID, but gave it up and start freelance journalism. She used her experience to write her debut novel, I Let You Go.

Her first novel was quite the hit, making it onto the the Richard and Judy Book Club, and ITV’s Loose Women’s Loose Books. Her first novel was a New York Times bestseller, and her second novel saw the same success. MacKintosh lives in North Wales with her family where she writes full-time.

Get notified when Clare Mackintosh releases a new book at

Publication Order of DC Morgan Books

The Last Party (2022)Description / Buy at
A Game of Lies (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

I Let You Go (2014)Description / Buy at
I See You (2016)Description / Buy at
Let Me Lie (2018)Description / Buy at
After the End (2019)Description / Buy at
The Understudy (With: Sophie Hannah,B.A. Paris,Holly Brown) (2019)Description / Buy at
Hostage (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Cotswold Family Life (2019)Description / Buy at
I Promise It Won't Always Hurt Like This: 18 Assurances on Grief (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Dead Simple(2017)Description / Buy at
First Edition: Celebrating 21 Years of Goldsboro Books(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Clare MacKintosh Books, You’ll Love…

MacKintosh’s first book was I Let You Go. Jenna Gray is moving to a remote town on the Welsh Coast, trying to escape the things that haunt her. A horrible car accident and a loss haunt her. The novel also follows a pair of Bristol police offers who are investigating a hit-and-run. The officers are drawn to one another, even as the case leads them nowhere as every lead seems to turn up nothing. This book builds the suspense throughout and will have you saying “one more page” deep into the night.

Clare’s second novel was I See You. Zoe Walker doesn’t live a very interesting life. She takes the same train every day, picks her favorite spot, and reads the paper. When she starts to notice a classified ad for and notices that the girls in the ads keep ending up on the wrong end of violent crimes, she seeks help from a local detective. The investigation leads her to some scary places and the realization that someone could be watching her on her boring old train ride.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Clare MacKintosh Books

Leave a Reply