Fiona Barton is a former journalist turned author who used to work for newspapers such as the Daily Mail, Daily Telegraph and Mail on Sunday. She is a winner of Reporter of the Year, a prestigious award handed out by the British Press Awards.

Barton was able to be successful in more than one field however when she turned to writing. Publishing her debut book The Widow while the world was searching for more authors like Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins worked out – this thriller became a New York Times Best Seller and Sunday Times Best Seller, publishing in 36 countries worldwide.

Barton has now created her own “universe” with characters from the Widow and has promised to write follow-ups featuring them.

Get notified when Fiona Barton releases a new book at

Publication Order of Kate Waters Books

Publication Order of Elise King Books

Local Gone Missing (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Talking To Strangers (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Fiona Barton Books, You’ll Love…

The Widow Synopsis: The Widow is the story of a missing child and is written from different perspectives. We get the perspective of the wife of the man accused, the perspective of the detective in charge of the investigation and finally the perspective of a reporter who is interviewing him.

It’s a great story although comparisons to Gone Girl are off base – don’t go into this expecting huge twists. There’s still mystery to it but it’s a lot more than just the ending.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Fiona Barton Books

Leave a Reply