Con Lehane is an American mystery writer best known for the 42nd Street Library Mysteries and Brian McNulty series of books.

In addition to his books, Lehane has published stories in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine and Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine. He has held may jobs and careers in his life from a college professor to a union organizer to a bartender, with each job helping to inform his writing. He is also a teacher of fiction writing and mystery writing at The Writer’s Center in Bethesda, Maryland.

Get notified when Con Lehane releases a new book at

Publication Order of Brian McNulty Books

Beware the Solitary Drinker (2002)Description / Buy at
What Goes Around Comes Around (2005)Description / Buy at
Death at the Old Hotel (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of 42nd Street Library Mystery Books

Murder at the 42nd Street Library (2016)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Manuscript Room (2017)Description / Buy at
Murder Off the Page (2019)Description / Buy at
Murder by Definition (2022)Description / Buy at
Murder at the College Library (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Con Lehane Books, You’ll Love…

Murder at the 42nd Street Library: A Mystery is the first book in The 42nd Street Library Mysteries. The book introduces us to the character of Raymond Ambler, a librarian and sleuth. He works with partners to solve the case of a murder in this one with many secrets in the 42nd Street Library coming to light in his investigation. There are many scholars studying at the library and all of them have sinister and disturbing things about them. Ambler and his crew will uncover them and more with each revelation leading to traumatic events.

Another good series by Lehane is the Brian McNulty series which starts off with Beware the Solitary Drinker. McNulty is a bartender at Oscar’s on the Upper West Side who has seen and done it all in his time. He knows to respect his customer’s privacy and prefers it that way, but when one of his customers is murdered with another customer being wrongly charged with the murder, he decides to investigate himself. When the victim’s sister comes to town, she’s turned off by Brian’s attitude and lifestyle, but she welcomes his help. He’ll investigate the other regulars at the bar and find that each of them has their own secrets to hide.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Con Lehane Books

Leave a Reply