David Joy is an American author of Southern literature. He was born and raised in North Carolina. He studied literature at Western Carolina University in Cullowhee, earning her BA in Literature and his MA in Professional Writing.

David Joy made his debut as a published author in 2011 with the non-fiction book Growing Gills. His first novel was Where All Light Tends to Go, which was published in 2015. Below is a list of David Joy’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when David Joy releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Where All Light Tends to Go (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Weight of this World (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Line That Held Us (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
When These Mountains Burn (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Those We Thought We Knew (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Gather at the River(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like David Joy Books, You’ll Love…

David Joy Synopsis: Where All Light Tends to Go is a standalone title by David Joy. The Cashiers, North Carolina area is home to all sorts of people, but the world that Jacob McNeely lives in is crueler than most. His father runs a methodically organized meth ring, with local authorities paid off to turn a blind eye to his dealings. Having dropped out of high school and cut himself off from his peers, Jacob has been working for this father for years, all on the promise that his payday will come eventually. The only joy he finds comes from reuniting with Maggie, his first love, and a girl clearly bound for bigger and better things than their hardscrabble town. Jacob has always been resigned to play the cards that were dealt him, but when a fatal mistake changes everything, he’s faced with a choice: stay and appease his father, or leave the mountains with the girl he loves. In a place where blood is thicker than water and hope takes a back seat to fate, Jacob wonders if he can muster the strength to rise above the only life he’s ever known.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of David Joy Books

Leave a Reply