Garth Risk Hallberg
Garth Risk Hallberg is an American author of literary fiction novels and non-fiction books. Garth was born outside Baton Rouge, Louisiana and grew up in Greenville, North Carolina. His parents were teachers, and his father was also a writer. Garth lives in New York City.

Garth Risk Hallberg made his debut as a published author in 2007 with the non-fiction book A Field Guide to the North American Family. He made his debut as a novelist in 2015 with the novel City on Fire. Below is a list of Garth Risk Hallberg’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Garth Risk Hallberg releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

City on Fire (2015)Description / Buy at
The Eleventh Grieve (2023)Description / Buy at
The Second Coming (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Field Guide to the North American Family (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Granta 139: Best of Young American Novelists 3(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Garth Risk Hallberg Books, You’ll Love…

Garth Risk Hallberg Synopsis: City on Fire is a standalone title by Garth Risk Hallberg. The characters of this novel include Regan and William Hamilton-Sweeney, estranged heirs to one of the city’s largest fortunes; Keith and Mercer, the men who, for better or worse, love them; Charlie and Samantha, two suburban teenagers seduced by downtown’s punk scene; an obsessive magazine reporter; his idealistic neighbor; and the detective trying to figure out what any of them have to do with a shooting in Central Park. Their entangled relationships–which stretch from post-Vietnam youth culture to the fiscal crisis, from small-town Georgia to greater L.A. – open up the loneliest-seeming corners of the crowded city. And when the infamous blackout of July 13th, 1977 plunges this world into darkness, each of these lives will be changed forever. A novel about love and betrayal and forgiveness, about art and truth and rock’n’roll, about how the people closest to us are sometimes the hardest to reach – about what it means to be human.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Garth Risk Hallberg Books

Leave a Reply