Geraldine Brooks is an Australian-American author of historical fiction novels. She is also a journalist. Geraldine’s novel March won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2005. She was educated at Bethlehem College and the University of Sydney. After graduating, she worked as a rookie reporter for The Sydney Morning Herald. She then won a Greg Shackleton Memorial Scholarship and moved to the United States, earning herself a Master’s degree at the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism.

Geraldine Brooks made her debut as a published author in 1994 with the non-fiction book Nine Parts of Desire. Her debut novel was titled Year of Wonders and was published in 2001. Below is a list of Geraldine Brooks’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Year of Wonders (2001)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
March (2005)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
People of the Book (2008)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
Caleb's Crossing (2011)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
The Secret Chord (2015)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Nine Parts of Desire (1994)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
Foreign Correspondence (1997)Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price

If You Like Geraldine Brooks Books, You’ll Love…

Geraldine Brooks Synopses: Years of Wonders is a standalone novel by Geraldine Brooks. When an infected bolt of cloth carries plague from London to an isolated village, a housemaid named Anna Frith emerges as an unlikely heroine and healer. Through Anna’s eyes we follow the story of the fateful year of 1666, as she and her fellow villagers confront the spread of disease and superstition. As death reaches into every household and villagers turn from prayers to murderous witch-hunting, Anna must find the strength to confront the disintegration of her community and the lure of illicit love. As she struggles to survive and grow, a year of catastrophe becomes instead annus mirabilis, a “year of wonders.”

Caleb’s Crossing is a standalone title by Geraldine Brooks. Bethia Mayfield is a restless and curious young woman growing up in Martha’s vineyard in the 1660s amid a small band of pioneering English Puritans. At age twelve, she meets Caleb, the young son of a chieftain, and the two forge a secret bond that draws each into the alien world of the other. Bethia’s father is a Calvinist minister who seeks to convert the native Wampanoag, and Caleb becomes a prize in the contest between old ways and new, eventually becoming the first Native American graduate of Harvard College. Inspired by a true story and narrated by the irresistible Bethia, Caleb’s Crossing brilliantly captures the triumphs and turmoil of two brave, openhearted spirits who risk everything in a search for knowledge at a time of superstition and ignorance.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Geraldine Brooks Books

Leave a Reply