Gil McNeil is a British author of women’s fiction novels. Her novel The Only Boy For Me was been made into a major ITV prime-time drama that aired in 2007. Gil has edited five collections of stories with Sarah Brown, and is Director of the charity PiggyBankKids, which supports projects that create opportunities for children. She lives in Kent, England with her son.

Gil McNeil made her debut as a published author in 2001 with the novel The Only Boy For Me. Below is a list of Gil McNeil’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Gil McNeil releases a new book at

Publication Order of Beach Street Knitting Society Books

The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club / Diva's Don't Knit (2007)Description / Buy at
Needles and Pearls (2008)Description / Buy at
Knit One Pearl One (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Only Boy For Me (2001)Description / Buy at
Stand by Your Man (2004)Description / Buy at
In the Wee Small Hours (2011)Description / Buy at
A Good Year for the Roses (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Journey To The Sea(2005)Description / Buy at

Notes: Divas Don’t Knit was also published as The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club. The collection Journey To The Sea also has stories by Sarah Brown and Hugo Tagholm. The anthologies Magic and Summer Magic were edited with Sarah Brown. The non-fiction books Mums, Dads, and Grandparents were co-authored by Sarah Brown.

If You Like Gil McNeil Books, You’ll Love…

Gil McNeil Synopses: In the Wee Small Hours is a short story by Gil McNeil. For everyone who fell in love with Annie Baker, here’s what happened next. Life just keeps getting more complicated. Her pregnant sister is planning a natural birth – in water – with Annie as her partner. Annie’s son wants a pet pheasant and her ancient uncle Monty has threatened the Meals on Wheels lady with a shotgun. And Mack has returned, just when Annie thinks she can cope without him.

Mums: A Celebration of Motherhood is a collection edited by Gil McNeil and Sarah Brown. Each piece of fiction, memoir and anecdote is about mothers. Writers included are Rosamunde Pilcher, Kate Atkinson, Meera Syal, Alexander McCall Smith, Joanne Harris, and Jilly Cooper, plus cartoons by Posy Simmonds, and lots more.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Gil McNeil Books

Leave a Reply