Greer Macallister is an American author, poet, and playwright. As an author, she debuted with The Magician’s Lie which was a bestseller and even selected for the LibraryReads Book of the Month Club and was also a Target Book Club Pick.

In addition to writing books and plays, Greer is also a contributor to Writer Unboxed and the Chicago Review of Books. Her book, The Magician’s Lie, has been optioned for film. Macallister is also the author of Girl in Disguise which is inspired by the real-life first female Pinkerton detective, Kate Warne.

Get notified when Greer Macallister releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Magician's Lie (2015)Description / Buy at
Girl in Disguise (2017)Description / Buy at
Woman 99 (2019)Description / Buy at
The Arctic Fury (2020)Description / Buy at
The Thirteenth Husband (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Five Queendoms Books

(as G.R. Macallister)

If You Like Greer Macallister Books, You’ll Love…

The Magician’s Lie was Greer’s debut and follows The Amazing Arden, the most famous female illusionist of her day. She is famous for her trick of sawing a man in half and one night decides to switch it up, trading her saw for a fire ax. The trick looks different and alter that night her husband is found dead beneath the stage that night. A young policeman named Virgil is investigating what seems to be a murder, but when he takes her into custody he finds that her story is much different than the events would seem. The story is unbelievable and Virgil will have to decide what the right thing to do is – set her free or turn her in.

Greer is also known as the author of Girl in Disguise. The book is inspired by the real story of Kate Warner, the first female detective. In this book she finds herself widowed and poor in 1856 Chicago. While most women would be destitute in this situation, Warne is far too clever and has another idea – convince the legendary Allan Pinkerton to hire her as a detective. She is thrown into the dangerous life of a detective and will need to figure out what type of person she is becoming.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Greer Macallister Books

Leave a Reply