J.R. Ellis is a Yorkshire-based author who writers murder mysteries. He writes the Yorkshire Murder Mystery series where the crimes and investigations all take place in the landscape and communities of the Yorkshire countryside, his true love of Yorkshire really shines through in his writing.

Ellis worked for a long time as a teacher before retiring and focusing more on his writing. While working as a teacher he often wrote plays for the children and the occasional ghost stories. He is a member of a writers’ group in Otley which he credits with much of his writing inspirations.

Get notified when J.R. Ellis releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Yorkshire Murder Mysteries Books

The Body in the Dales / The Body in Jingling Pot (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Quartet Murders (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Murder at Redmire Hall (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Royal Baths Murder (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Nidderdale Murders (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Whitby Murders (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder at St Anne's (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Railway Murders (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Brewery Murders (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Canal Murders (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like J.R. Ellis Books, You’ll Love…

The Body in the Dales is the first book in the Yorkshire Murder Mystery series. This book sees a body discovered deep in a cave beneath the Yorkshire Dales. The man who is found is Dave Atkins and he’s not particularly popular around town which leads to plenty of suspects. The detectives, DCI Jim Oldroyd and DS Carter, are getting close on the case and have potential information coming their way from an informant. That lead hits a dead end when the informant is found dead and the detectives realize the killer will do whatever it takes to conceal what they’re hiding.

Ellis followed that book up with The Quartet Murders which sees DCI Oldroyd back on the case. He’s enjoying a bit of leisure time and watching a world-famous violinist perform when the violinist is shot and killed in the middle of a concert. In the pandemonium following the crime, the culprit disappears, and the victim’s priceless violin has gone missing. It seems the violin may have been the cause of the crime and Oldroyd will have to enter the ruthless world of wealthy instrument collectors in order to solve the crime and recover the priceless item.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of J.R. Ellis Books

Leave a Reply