Jason Goodwin is a British author of historical mystery novels and non-fiction books. He writes the Yashim the Eunuch series. Jason became interested in Instanbul while studying Byzantine history at Cambridge University. When the Berlin Wall fell, he walked from Poland to Istanbul to encounter the new European neighbours. He wrote a memoir on his trip, entitled On Foot to the Golden Horn, which won the John Llewellyn Rhys/Mail on Sunday Prize in 1993.

Jason Goodwin made his debut as a published author in 1980 with the non-fiction book A Time for Tea. His debut as a novelist was 2006’s The Janissary Tree. Below is a list of Jason Goodwin’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Jason Goodwin releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Yashim The Ottoman Detective Books

The Janissary Tree (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Snake Stone (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Bellini Card (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An Evil Eye (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Baklava Club (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Yashim Cooks Istanbul (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Time for Tea (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Gunpowder Gardens (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
On Foot to the Golden Horn (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lords of the Horizons (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Otis (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Greenback (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Learning Akka (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Global Debt Crisis and How We Can Get Out of It (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Pilgrim's Guide to Sacred London (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Note: A Pilgrim’s Guide to Sacred London was co-authored by John Michell.

If You Like Jason Goodwin Books, You’ll Love…

Jason Goodwin Synopsis: The Janissary Tree by Jason Goodwin is the first book in the Yashim the Eunuch series. The year is 1836. Europe is becoming modern, and the Ottoman Empire must follow suit. But just before the Sultan announces sweeping changes, a wave of murders threatens the fragile balance of power in his court. Who is the culprit? Only one intelligence agent can be trusted to find out: Yashim Lastname, a man both brilliant and near-invisible in this world. You see, Yashim is a eunuch. He leads us into the palace’s luxurious seraglios and Istanbul’s teeming streets, and leans on the wisdom of a dyspeptic Polish ambassador, a transsexual dancer, and a Creole-born queen mother. And he introduces us to the Janissaries. For 400 years, they were the empire’s elite soldiers, but they grew too powerful, and ten years ago, the Sultan had them crushed. Are the Janissaries getting ready to make their comeback?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jason Goodwin Books

Leave a Reply