Jean Johnson
Jean Johnson is an American author of fantasy and science fiction novels, with romance mixed in. She is the author of the Sons of Destiny, Theirs Not to Reason Why, Flame Sea and other series. Jean has played in the Society for Creative Anachronism (SCA) for 25 years, likes to sing and often argues with her cats about whose territory the office chair is. She lives in a home with zone heat and decent plumbing, but wishes to put turrets and ramparts on it in order to make it look more like a castle. Jean currently lives in the Pacific Northwest.

Jean Johnson made her debut as a published author in 2007 with the novel The Sword, beginning her Sons of Destiny series. Below is a list of Jean Johnson’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Jean Johnson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sons of Destiny Books

Publication Order of Shifting Plains Books

Publication Order of Theirs Not to Reason Why Books

Publication Order of Guardians of Destiny Books

Publication Order of Flame Seas Books

Birthright (2014)Description / Buy at
Dawn of the Flame Sea (2016)Description / Buy at
Demons of the Flame Sea (2016)Description / Buy at
Gods of the Flame Sea (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of First Salik War Books

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Terrific Timothy Tree Climber (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Bedtime Stories (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Hallelujah Anyway: The Life and Times of David Johnson (2017)Description / Buy at
The Hilarious Giraffe (2018)Description / Buy at
Standing on Our Own Feet: How to Encourage Indigenous Churches to Operate from a Place of Dignity and Sustainability in Global Mission Workbook (2018)Description / Buy at
We Are Not The Hero - The Participant's Guide (2018)Description / Buy at
Grit and Gold: The Death Valley Jayhawkers of 1849 (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

An Enchanted Season(2007)Description / Buy at
Elemental Magic(2007)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Paranormal Romance(2009)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Time Travel Romance(2009)Description / Buy at
Subversion(2011)Description / Buy at
Agony/Ecstasy: 21 Stories of Agonizing Pleasure(2011)Description / Buy at
Unbound(2013)Description / Buy at
Infinite Stars(2017)Description / Buy at

Notes: Elemental Magic also contains stories by Carol Berg, Sharon Shinn and Rebecca York. An Enchanted Season also has stories by Erin McCarthy, Maggie Shayne and Nalini Singh. Unbound also has stories by Jennifer Ashley, Angela Knight and Hanna Martine.

If You Like Jean Johnson Books, You’ll Love…

Jean Johnson Synopsis: The Sword by Jean Johnson is the first book in the Sons of Destiny series. To avoid tempting destiny, four sets of twin mage-brothers are exiled to Nightfall Island, where females are forbidden. But when the youngest rescues a woman from another universe, their world is altered forever.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jean Johnson Books

Leave a Reply