Jo Dereske is an American author of mystery and children’s novels. She writes the Miss Zukas series. Jo grew up in Michigan, and couldn’t wait to leave. With that said, she embraces her Michigan roots by involving it in her fiction. Much like her character Helma Zukas, she has worked as a librarian. Jo lives in the foothills of Mount Baker, near Bellingham, Washington.

Jo Dereske made her debut as a published author in 1985 with the novel Glom Gloom. Below is a list of Jo Dereske’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Jo Dereske releases a new book at

Publication Order of Miss Zukas Books

Miss Zukas and the Library Murders (1994)Description / Buy at
Miss Zukas and the Stroke of Death (1995)Description / Buy at
Miss Zukas and the Island Murders (1995)Description / Buy at
Miss Zukas and the Raven's Dance (1996)Description / Buy at
Out of Circulation (1997)Description / Buy at
Final Notice (1998)Description / Buy at
Miss Zukas in Death's Shadow (1999)Description / Buy at
Miss Zukas Shelves the Evidence (2001)Description / Buy at
Bookmarked to Die (2006)Description / Buy at
Catalogue of Death (2007)Description / Buy at
Index to Murder (2008)Description / Buy at
Farewell, Miss Zukas (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ruby Crane Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Glom Gloom (1985)Description / Buy at
The Lone Sentinel (1989)Description / Buy at
My Cousin, the Poodle (1991)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

All of Us at the Same Time (2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jo Dereske Books, You’ll Love…

Jo Dereske Synopses: Savage Cut is a mystery novel by Jo Dereske. After an accident leaves her a widow and her daughter injured, Ruby Crane abandons her job as a LAPD graphologist, retreating to her peaceful Michigan hometown, but she will have to put her crime-solving talents to use when a murderous scheme erupts nearby.

The Lone Sentinel is a children’s science fiction novel by Jo Dereske. After his father’s passing, a teenager assumes control of a light tower at the bleak and lonely outpost of the universe – a job he feels capable of handling until the arrival of two teenaged girls and a group of aliens.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jo Dereske Books

Leave a Reply