Jo Spain is an Irish author out of Dublin, best known for her Detective Inspector Tom Reynolds series of books. The first book, With Our Blessing, was a bestseller upon release.

In addition to writing, Jo is vice-chair of business body InterTrade Ireland and a parliamentary assistant in Leinster House. She is also a screenwriter who co-wrote the ground-breaking TV series Taken Down. That show was first broadcast in Ireland in 2018. She continues to work on multiple other European television projects. Spain lives in Dublin with her husband and their children.

Get notified when Jo Spain releases a new book at

Publication Order of Inspector Tom Reynolds Books

With Our Blessing (2015)Description / Buy at
Beneath the Surface (2016)Description / Buy at
Sleeping Beauties (2017)Description / Buy at
The Darkest Place (2018)Description / Buy at
The Boy Who Fell (2019)Description / Buy at
After the Fire (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Confession (2018)Description / Buy at
Dirty Little Secrets (2019)Description / Buy at
Six Wicked Reasons (2020)Description / Buy at
The Perfect Lie (2021)Description / Buy at
The Last to Disappear (2022)Description / Buy at
Don't Look Back (2023)Description / Buy at
The Trial (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jo Spain Books, You’ll Love…

With Our Blessing is the first book in the Inspector Tom Reynolds series of books. Way back in 1975, a baby was taken from its mother just minutes after it was born. In 2010, this all comes back around. A corpse of a nun is found and Detective Inspector Tom Reynolds is convinced that it has something to do with the infamous former Magdalene Laundries were “fallen women” were taken. The case takes him to an isolated convent where things seem normal, but under the surface are anything but.

Another great book by Spain is called The Confession: A Novel. A man heads to the home of the disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife one night and brutally attacks Harry. His wife is helpless and the banked ends up dead. Later that night, the same man hands himself into the police and confesses to the claim. JP Carney swears that the crime was not premeditated and that it was just a random act of violence, but the police have a hard time believing that. They also wonder if his Harry’s wife Julie could’ve done anything to help. The case which should be open and shut has far more questions than the police could’ve imagined.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jo Spain Books

2 Responses to “Order of Jo Spain Books”

  1. pat gajeski: 11 months ago

    I have read all the books by JO SPAIN I get started and cannot put them down–hold you in suspense till end of book–love her books


  2. GladysBienemann: 2 years ago

    Only read two of her books so far love them. I was born in Ireland and feel a kinship with her.


Leave a Reply