John Gilstrap is an American author of mystery and thriller novels. He has always been a writer at heart, but he has also worked as a managing editor, volunteer firefighter and engineer. He is an expert in explosives. He has standalone novels as well as a relatively new series character, Jonathan Grave.

By the time Gilstrap had sold his first novel, Nathan’s Run (1996), he had already written three other novels. Below is a list of all of John Gilstrap’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when John Gilstrap releases a new book at

Publication Order of Jonathan Grave Books

Publication Order of Nick Of Time Books

Publication Order of Victoria Emerson Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Six Minutes to Freedom (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Harold Middleton Books

The Chopin Manuscript (2007)Description / Buy at
The Copper Bracelet (2009)Description / Buy at
The Starling Project: An Audible Drama (2014)Description / Buy at
Serial thrillers written by multiple authors.

Publication Order of Anthologies

Fresh Kills, Tales from the Kill Zone(2010)Description / Buy at
Hotel California(2022)Description / Buy at

Notes: Fresh Kills also contains stories by James Scott Bell, Michelle Gagnon, Clare Langley-Hawthorne, Kathryn Lilley, John Ramsey Miller and Joe Moore. The Harold Middleton books are collaborative novels and contain contributions from many different authors. Six Minutes to Freedom is co-authored with Kurt Muse.

If You Like John Gilstrap Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Gilstrap Books

3 Responses to “Order of John Gilstrap Books”

  1. Simon: 2 years ago

    Be advised that the ‘Standalone’ Nick Of Time is a single publication which encompasses all 5 ‘Nick of Time’ books .

    Quote from the book: “The five parts of Nick of Time are available as separate e-books:”


    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Thanks Simon. I’ve made a note on that and added it to the Nick of Time series.


  2. Doris K: 4 years ago

    I am currently reading Soft Targets by John Gilstrap. It shows to be the 6th books in the Jonathan Grave series, but it seems really out of order. It basically introduces the reader to Irene Rivers, aka Wolverine, who has already appeared in his earlier Johnathan Grave books. Perhaps it was written earlier but published later?


Leave a Reply