John Lutz is an American author of mystery and suspense novels. One of his most famous novels, Single White Female, was adapted to the 1992 film starring Bridget Fonda. He is the winner of the Shamus and Edgar awards. Lutz mostly writes in series, including his Alo Nudger, Frank Quinn, Fred Carver and Night series.

John Lutz would get his first break in 1966 when a short story of his would appear in Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine. His first novel would be published in 1971, titled The Truth of the Matter. Below is a list of John Lutz’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Alo Nudger Books

Buyer Beware (1976)Description / Buy at
Nightlines (1984)Description / Buy at
The Right to Sing the Blues (1985)Description / Buy at
Ride the Lightning (1987)Description / Buy at
Dancer's Debt (1988)Description / Buy at
Time Exposure (1989)Description / Buy at
Diamond Eyes (1990)Description / Buy at
Thicker Than Blood (1993)Description / Buy at
Death By Jury (1995)Description / Buy at
Oops! (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Alo Nudger Collections

The Nudger Dilemmas (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Fred Carver Books

Publication Order of Night Books

The Night Caller (2001)Description / Buy at
The Night Watcher (2002)Description / Buy at
The Night Spider / Night Victims (2003)Description / Buy at
Fear the Night (2005)Description / Buy at
Chill of Night (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Frank Quinn Books

Publication Order of Thomas Laker Books

The Honorable Traitors (2018)Description / Buy at
The Havana Game (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Oxman and Tobin Mysteries Books

(with Bill Pronzini)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Truth of the Matter (1971)Description / Buy at
Bonegrinder (1977)Description / Buy at
Lazarus Man (1979)Description / Buy at
Jericho Man (1980)Description / Buy at
The Shadow Man (1982)Description / Buy at
Single White Female (1990)Description / Buy at
Dancing with the Dead (1992)Description / Buy at
The Ex (1996)Description / Buy at
Single White Female Seeks Same (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

What You Don’t Know Can Hurt You (1982)Description / Buy at
Only One Way To Land (1983)Description / Buy at
The Romantics (1994)Description / Buy at
High Stakes (With: Stacy Keach) (1997)Description / Buy at
Nightcrawlers (1997)Description / Buy at
Second Story Sunlight (2002)Description / Buy at
The Desert (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Better Mousetraps (1988)Description / Buy at
Shadows Everywhere (1994)Description / Buy at
Until You Are Dead (1998)Description / Buy at
Endless Road, and Other Stories (2003)Description / Buy at
Tough and Other Short Stories: Tough, High Stakes, The Real Shape of the Coast (With: Stacy Keach) (2014)Description / Buy at
The President's Cat Is Missing & Other Stories (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Deadly Allies Books

Deadly Allies (With: Sue Grafton,Sara Paretsky,Jan Grape,Susan Dunlap,Margaret Maron,Nancy Pickard,Loren D. Estleman,Julie Smith,Jeremiah Healy,Max Allan Collins,Benjamin M. Schutz,Robert J. Randisi,Carolyn Hart,Lia Matera,Michael Collins,Marilyn Wallace,Rob Kantner,Sandra Scoppettone,Sarah Andrews,Bob Randisi) (1992)Description / Buy at
Deadly Allies II (With: Susan Dunlap,Loren D. Estleman,Robert J. Randisi) (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

100 Malicious Little Mysteries(1981)Description / Buy at
Alfred Hitchcock's A Choice of Evils(1983)Description / Buy at
Mean Streets(1986)Description / Buy at
Tales of Terror(1986)Description / Buy at
An Eye for Justice(1988)Description / Buy at
Deadly Allies(1992)Description / Buy at
Dark Crimes 2(1993)Description / Buy at
Feline and Famous(1994)Description / Buy at
Deadly Allies II(1994)Description / Buy at
Vampire Detectives(1995)Description / Buy at
First Cases, Volume 1: First Appearances of Classic Private Eyes(1996)Description / Buy at
First Cases, Volume 1(1996)Description / Buy at
Guilty as Charged(1996)Description / Buy at
Murder to Music(1997)Description / Buy at
Once Upon a Crime(1998)Description / Buy at
Murder on Route 66(1998)Description / Buy at
The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes(1999)Description / Buy at
Unholy Orders(2000)Description / Buy at
The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 2(2000)Description / Buy at
The World\\\'s Finest Mystery and Crime Stories: 4(2003)Description / Buy at
Show Business is Murder(2004)Description / Buy at
The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 5(2004)Description / Buy at
At the Scene of the Crime(2008)Description / Buy at
Florida Heat Wave(2010)Description / Buy at
The Shamus Winners(2010)Description / Buy at
First Thrills: Volume 4(2011)Description / Buy at
Silent Night, Deadly Night(2016)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Eye was co-authored with Bill Pronzini. Final Seconds was co-authored by David August. Single White Female was also published as SWF Seeks Same. The Night Spider was later re-published as Night Victims.

If You Like John Lutz Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Lutz Books

Leave a Reply