Johnny Shaw is an American author of crime fiction novels. He writes the Jimmy Veeder series. Johnny was born and raised on the California-Mexico border (Calexico-Mexicali), which is where he sets his Jimmy Veeder series. He received his MFA in Screenwriting from UCLA and has had his screenplays optioned, sold, and produced. He has also taught writing online and in person. Johnny lives in Portland, Oregon with his wife, artist Roxanne Patruznick.

Johnny Shaw made his debut as a published novelist in 2011 with the novel Dove Season. Below is a list of Johnny Shaw’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Johnny Shaw releases a new book at

Publication Order of Jimmy Veeder Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Snickerdoodle Kerfuffle (2013)Description / Buy at
Feliz Navidead (2015)Description / Buy at
Gary’s Got a Boner (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Feeding Kate(2012)Description / Buy at
Blood & Tacos #1(2012)Description / Buy at
Blood & Tacos #3(2012)Description / Buy at
Blood & Tacos #2(2012)Description / Buy at
Blood & Tacos: The Beginning(2013)Description / Buy at
Cruel Yule(2015)Description / Buy at
Shotgun Honey Presents Volume 4: RECOIL(2020)Description / Buy at
Lockdown(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Johnny Shaw Books, You’ll Love…

Johnny Shaw Synopsis: Big Maria is a standalone title by Johnny Shaw. There’s gold in them thar hills – or more precisely, in Arizona’s Chocolate Mountains, where one hundred years ago a miner stashed a king’s ransom of the stuff. But times have changed. The world has changed. And now the Chocolate Mountains are the home of the largest military artillery range in the world. Harry’s living on disability and getting liquored up and beaten down. Frank’s a feisty old-timer battling cancer and a domineering daughter. And Ricky’s a good kid in a bad spot, doing everything for family. Together they’re staking what little they have left on a dangerous quest to the Big Maria Mine – and the gold that can offer them a new beginning. Unfortunately a meth-dealing biker wants a piece, a trigger-happy AWOL soldier wants to play chicken in a live minefield, two stubborn burros want to go home, a starving mountain lion wants his dinner, and the US Army wants to rain on our heroes’ parade with real bombs. When you’re all out of crazy ideas, you’ve got to try the stupid ones.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Johnny Shaw Books

Leave a Reply