Jonathan Gash
Jonathan Gash is the pen name of English novelist John Grant, who writes crime fiction novels. He is best known as the author of the Lovejoy series and also wrote the Dr. Clare Burtonall series. Gash is a trained general practitioner and pathologist. He also served in the British Army and made Major in the Royal Army Medical Corps. Gash was also head of bacteriology at the School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine for the University of London for 17 years. He lives near Colchester, Essex, England.

Jonathan Gash became a published author in 1977 with the novel The Judas Pair. The novel won the John Creasey Award that same year. Below is a list of Jonathan Gash’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Jonathan Gash releases a new book at

Publication Order of Lovejoy Books

The Judas Pair (1977)Description / Buy at
Gold by Gemini (1978)Description / Buy at
The Grail Tree (1979)Description / Buy at
Spend Game (1980)Description / Buy at
The Vatican Rip (1981)Description / Buy at
Firefly Gadroon (1982)Description / Buy at
The Sleepers of Erin (1983)Description / Buy at
The Gondola Scam (1984)Description / Buy at
Pearlhanger (1985)Description / Buy at
The Tartan Ringers (1986)Description / Buy at
Moonspender (1987)Description / Buy at
Jade Woman (1989)Description / Buy at
The Very Last Gambado (1990)Description / Buy at
The Great California Game (1991)Description / Buy at
The Lies of Fair Ladies (1992)Description / Buy at
Paid and Loving Eyes (1993)Description / Buy at
The Sin Within Her Smile (1993)Description / Buy at
The Grace in Older Women (1995)Description / Buy at
The Possessions of a Lady (1996)Description / Buy at
The Rich and the Profane (1998)Description / Buy at
A Rag, a Bone and a Hank of Hair (2000)Description / Buy at
Every Last Cent (2001)Description / Buy at
The Ten Word Game (2003)Description / Buy at
Faces in the Pool (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dr. Clare Burtonall Books

Different Women Dancing (1997)Description / Buy at
Prey Dancing (1998)Description / Buy at
Die Dancing (2001)Description / Buy at
Bone Dancing (2003)Description / Buy at
Blood Dancing (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Incomer (1981)Description / Buy at
The Year of the Woman (2005)Description / Buy at
Finding Davey (2005)Description / Buy at
Bad Girl Magdalene (2008)Description / Buy at
Preddy Boy (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Malice Domestic 8(1999)Description / Buy at

Note: The novel The Incomer was written under the pen name of Graham Gaunt. The Tartan Ringers was also published as The Tartan Sell.

If You Like Jonathan Gash Books, You’ll Love…

Jonathan Gash Synopsis: Preddy Boy is a standalone novel by Jonathan Gash. Preddy Boy is a teenager who lives in the warren beneath a railway station. It is there where he learns his survival skills from an old refugee named Hans. Together, they haul trash bins and live off discarded food while scheming to get to the United States. When Preddy Boy’s ability to foresee criminal activity allows security to stop a terrorist in action, authorities become interested in Preddy Boy’s talent.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jonathan Gash Books

Leave a Reply