Kenneth (K.J.A.) Wishnia is an American author of historical fiction and mystery novels. He writes the Filomena Buscarsela series. Kenneth was born in New Hampshire, graduated from Brown University, and earned a Ph.D. in comparative literature from SUNY Stony Brook. He is currently a professor in the English Department at SUNY Suffolk. Kenneth lives in Long Island, New York with his wife and two children.

K.J.A. Wishnia made his debut as a novelist in 1998 with the novel 23 Shades of Black. Below is a list of K.J.A. Wishnia’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when K.J.A. Wishnia releases a new book at

Publication Order of Filomena Buscarsela Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Fifth Servant (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Flat Rate and Other Tales of Mystery and Weirdness (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Twentieth Century Ecuadorian Narrative (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Akashic Noir Books

Brooklyn Noir (By: Tim McLoughlin) (2004)Description / Buy at
Havana Noir (By: Achy Obejas) (2007)Description / Buy at
Las Vegas Noir (By: Jarret Keene) (2008)Description / Buy at
Trinidad Noir (By: Elizabeth Nunez) (2008)Description / Buy at
Istanbul Noir (By: Tarkan Barlas) (2008)Description / Buy at
Paris Noir (By: Aurélien Masson) (2008)Description / Buy at
San Francisco Noir 2 (By: Peter Maravelis) (2009)Description / Buy at
Portland Noir (By: Monica Drake) (2009)Description / Buy at
Mexico City Noir (By: Paco Ignacio Taibo II) (2010)Description / Buy at
Indian Country Noir (By: Sarah Cortez) (2010)Description / Buy at
Moscow Noir (By: Irina Denezhkina) (2010)Description / Buy at
Philadelphia Noir (By: Carlin Romano) (2010)Description / Buy at
Barcelona Noir (By: Achy Obejas) (2011)Description / Buy at
St. Petersburg Noir (By: Pavel Krusanov) (2012)Description / Buy at
Kansas City Noir (By: Steve Paul,Kevin Prufer) (2012)Description / Buy at
Boston Noir 2 (By: Jaime Clarke) (2012)Description / Buy at
Tel Aviv Noir (By: Assaf Gavron) (2014)Description / Buy at
Zagreb Noir (By: Nada Gašić) (2015)Description / Buy at
Buffalo Noir (By: Kim Chinquee) (2015)Description / Buy at
Marseille Noir (By: Salim Hatubou) (2015)Description / Buy at
Beirut Noir (By: Abbas Beydoun) (2015)Description / Buy at
Rio Noir (By: Tony Bellotto) (2016)Description / Buy at
Brussels Noir (By: Sara Doke) (2016)Description / Buy at
San Juan Noir (By: Mayra Santos-Febres) (2016)Description / Buy at
Oakland Noir (By: JerryThompson) (2017)Description / Buy at
São Paulo Noir (By: Tony Bellotto) (2018)Description / Buy at
Hong Kong Noir (By: Susan Blumberg- Kason) (2018)Description / Buy at
Houston Noir (By: Gwendolyn Zepeda) (2019)Description / Buy at
Addis Ababa Noir (By: Maaza Mengiste) (2020)Description / Buy at
Belgrade Noir (By: Vesna Goldsworthy) (2020)Description / Buy at
Accra Noir (By: Nana Brew-Hammond) (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

...And the Dying is Easy(2001)Description / Buy at
Murder in Vegas: New Crime Tales of Gambling and Desperation(2005)Description / Buy at
Queens Noir(2008)Description / Buy at
Jewish Noir(2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like K.J.A. Wishnia Books, You’ll Love…

K.J.A. Wishnia Synopsis: The Fifth Servant by Kenneth Wishnia goes back to 16th century Prague in the shadow of the Papal Inquisition – and introduces a uniquely unforgettable protagonist, a young Talmudic scholar who has three days to solve a heinous murder before official reprisals decimate the city’s Jewish community. It mixes themes of religion, mystery, and intrigue, recreating life in the era when Emperor Rudolph II occupied the throne – a time of uncertainty and fear viewed through the eyes of an intrepid rabbinical student on a quest for truth and justice.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of K.J.A. Wishnia Books

Leave a Reply