Keenan Powell is an American author of mystery novels and short stories. She writes the Maeve Malloy series. Keenan was born in Roswell, New Mexico – years after the visit from certain famous guests – and moved around a lot growing up, as an Air Force brat. Her family settled in Northern California, and she earned a B.S. in Broadcast Communication Arts from San Francisco State University and a Juris Doctorate from McGeorge School of Law. One summer, she was visiting a friend in Anchorage, and immediately knew her next destination. She moved there immediately after graduating from law school. Keenan still lives in Anchorage, and practices law there. In her spare time, she likes riding her bike, spending time with her Irish Wolfhound, studying the concert harp, or messing around with oil paints.

Keenan Powell made her debut as an author in 2017 with the novel Deadly Solution. The novel won an Agatha Award for Best First Novel. Below is a list of Keenan Powell’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Keenan Powell releases a new book at

Publication Order of Liam Barrett Books

The Liam Barrett Short Stories (2023)Description / Buy at
The Sorrowful Girl (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Maeve Malloy Mystery Books

Deadly Solution (2018)Description / Buy at
Hemlock Needle (2019)Description / Buy at
Hell and High Water (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Maureen Gould Books

Implied Consent (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Snowbound: The Best New England Crime Stories 2017(2017)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic: Mystery Most Diabolical(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Keenan Powell Books, You’ll Love…

Keenan Powell Synopsis: Deadly Solution is the first Maeve Malloy novel by Keenan Powell. Less than a year after drinking sidelined her career as a public defender in Anchorage, Alaska, Maeve Malloy is asked to defend an Aleut Indian accused of beating another homeless man to death. With no witnesses to the crime and a client who claims to have blacked out during the homicide, the odds of winning the case are slim. As Maeve fights to stay sober, she and her investigator Tom Sinclair search for answers in homeless camps, roadside bars, and biker gang hangouts. When they uncover more than a few people with motives all their own for wanting the victim dead, they are determined to prove their client’s innocence before he is sentenced to a life behind bars for a crime he swears he didn’t commit. When Maeve and Tom discover there may be a link to an unusually high number of deaths among the homeless community, the search is on for a killer hunting among the most vulnerable members of society.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Keenan Powell Books

Leave a Reply