Shirley Rousseau Murphy
Shirley Rousseau Murphy is an American author of mystery novels and children’s books. She is best known for her Joe Grey cat-themed mystery series. Shirley has won five Council of Authors and Journalists Awards. She graduated from the San Francisco Art Institute, has worked as a commercial artist and has exhibited paintings and sculptures. She and her husband live in Carmel, California with their cats, which have included one that warned them of break-ins and another that liked to ride horses.

Shirley Rousseau Murphy became a published author in 1967 with the standalone novel Sand Ponies. Below is a list of Shirley Rousseau Murphy’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Joe Grey Books

Cat on the Edge (1996)Description / Buy at
Cat Under Fire (1996)Description / Buy at
Cat Raise the Dead (1997)Description / Buy at
Cat in the Dark (1998)Description / Buy at
Cat To The Dogs (1999)Description / Buy at
Cat Spitting Mad (2000)Description / Buy at
Cat Laughing Last (2001)Description / Buy at
Cat Seeing Double (2003)Description / Buy at
Cat Fear No Evil (2004)Description / Buy at
Cat Cross Their Graves (2005)Description / Buy at
Cat Breaking Free (2005)Description / Buy at
Cat Deck the Halls (2007)Description / Buy at
Cat Pay the Devil (2007)Description / Buy at
Cat Playing Cupid (2009)Description / Buy at
Cat Striking Back (2009)Description / Buy at
Cat on the Money (2010)Description / Buy at
Cat Coming Home (2010)Description / Buy at
Cat Telling Tales (2011)Description / Buy at
Cat Bearing Gifts (2012)Description / Buy at
Cat Shout for Joy (2016)Description / Buy at
Cat Shining Bright (2018)Description / Buy at
Cat Chase the Moon (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children of Ynell Books

The Ring of Fire (1977)Description / Buy at
The Wolf Bell (1979)Description / Buy at
The Castle of Hape (1980)Description / Buy at
Caves of Fire and Ice (1980)Description / Buy at
The Joining of the Stone (1981)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dragonbards Books

Publication Order of Lee Fontana Books

The Cat, The Devil, and Lee Fontana (2014)Description / Buy at
The Cat, the Devil, the Last Escape (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Sand Ponies (1967)Description / Buy at
White Ghost Summer (1969)Description / Buy at
Wind Child (1973)Description / Buy at
Poor Jenny, Bright As A Penny (1974)Description / Buy at
The Grass Tower (1976)Description / Buy at
Silver Woven in My Hair (1977)Description / Buy at
Soonie and the Dragon (1979)Description / Buy at
Elmo Doolan and the Search for the Golden Mouse (1982)Description / Buy at
The Flight of the Fox (1983)Description / Buy at
Valentine for a Dragon (1984)Description / Buy at
Medallion of the Black Hound (1989)Description / Buy at
The Song of the Christmas Mouse (1990)Description / Buy at
The Catswold Portal (1992)Description / Buy at
Unsettled (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Pig Who Could Conjure The Wind (1978)Description / Buy at
Tattie's River Journey (1983)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Unicorn Treasury: Stories, Poems, and Unicorn Lore(1988)Description / Buy at
Motherhood Is Murder(2003)Description / Buy at
Christmas Cats(2005)Description / Buy at

Notes: Poor Jenny, Bright as a Penny was re-issued under the title of Unsettled. The Lee Fontana series is co-authored by Pat J.J. Murphy. Motherhood is Murder also contains stories by Mary Daheim, Carolyn Hart and Jane Isenberg.

If You Like Shirley Rousseau Murphy Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Shirley Rousseau Murphy Books

Leave a Reply