Kevin O'Brien
Kevin O’Brien is an American author of thriller and suspense novels. O’Brien studied Journalism at Marquette University in Milwaukee. He ended up working as a railroad inspector, while writing at night. He was given the advice not to quit his day job until the money he made from writing could support himself for two years by Terry Brooks, which he took to heart. Originally from Chicago, Kevin lives in Seattle, Washington.

Kevin O’Brien became a published novelist in 1997 with the novel Only Son. Below is a list of Kevin O’Brien’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Kevin O'Brien releases a new book at

Publication Order of Family Secrets Books

The Betrayed Wife (2019)Description / Buy at
The Bad Sister (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Only Son (1997)Description / Buy at
The Next To Die (2001)Description / Buy at
Make Them Cry (2002)Description / Buy at
Watch Them Die (2003)Description / Buy at
Left for Dead (2004)Description / Buy at
The Last Victim (2005)Description / Buy at
Killing Spree (2007)Description / Buy at
One Last Scream (2007)Description / Buy at
Final Breath (2009)Description / Buy at
Vicious (2010)Description / Buy at
Disturbed (2011)Description / Buy at
Terrified (2012)Description / Buy at
Unspeakable (2013)Description / Buy at
Tell Me You're Sorry (2014)Description / Buy at
No One Needs To Know (2015)Description / Buy at
You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone (2016)Description / Buy at
Hide Your Fear (2017)Description / Buy at
They Won't Be Hurt (2018)Description / Buy at
The Night She Disappeared (2021)Description / Buy at
The Enemy at Home (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Hotel Angeline(2011)Description / Buy at
Nothing Good Happens After Midnight(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Kevin O’Brien Books, You’ll Love…

Kevin O’Brien Synopsis: In the debut standalone novel Only Son by Kevin O’Brien, the McMurrays’ marriage has been rocky, but is finally beginning to work out, thanks to their new baby, Eddie. Carl Jorgenson is a divorcee without a family whose dream is to give a child the love he never had. His next course of action is one that will change his life and the McMurrays’ lives completely. The novel was optioned for film due to interest from Tom Hanks.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Kevin O’Brien Books

2 Responses to “Order of Kevin O’Brien Books”

  1. Kelly Delp Allenbaugh: 9 years ago

    Good morning is their any certain order to read your books ? You are an extreme awesome writer keep them coming !!


    • Barbara Knox Hughes: 8 years ago

      Each one is a stand alone and I get hooked after each first chapter. The only recurring part is that each is about a serial killer and most of the suspense keeps you guessing until close to the end. Just when you think you have it all figured out he drops a bomb on your suspect and you are back to square one. I have read almost all of his books now and am sad that I will soon finish the last one. Hurry up and write more books Kevin. I’m waiting for the next one. All I can say is he is the best writer I have read in a long time and I read hundreds of books every year. The most suspenseful books ever!


Leave a Reply