L.L. McKinney is an American author best known as the author of A Blade So Black which is the first book in the Nightmare-Verse. The series is a re-imagining of the classic, Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll with a black high school student from Atlanta who goes to Wonderland to hunt monsters.

The television rights to A Blade So Black were optioned by Lionsgate Television for a potential series in 2018. McKinney is based in Kansas City. When she’s not writing she enjoys gaming and spending time with her cat, Sir Chester Fluffmire Boopsnoot Purrington Wigglebottom Flooferson III, esquire, Baron o’Butterscotch or #SirChester for short.

Get notified when L L McKinney releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Nightmare-Verse Books

A Blade So Black (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Dream So Dark (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Crown So Cursed (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Power Rangers: Limited Books

(with Frank Gogol)

Power Rangers Unlimited: Edge of Darkness (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Splintered Magic (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Escaping Mr. Rochester (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

Nubia: Real One (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Wonderland(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Phoenix First Must Burn(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
World of Warcraft: Folk & Fairy Tales of Azeroth(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Twice Cursed(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Grimoire of Grave Fates(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Faeries Never Lie(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like L.L. McKinney Books, You’ll Love…

A Blade So Black introduces us to a girl named Alice from Atlanta with an overprotective mom, a high-maintenance best friend, and a GPA that is dropping. Her life isn’t that simple especially when you add in the monsters that she fights in Wonderland. The first time the Nightmares came for her she nearly died, but she’s been trained by her mysterious mentor to battle them with magic weapons and hardcore fighting skills to destroy them. Now her mentor has been poisoned and in order to find the antidote, Alice will have to travel deeper into Wonderland than she’e ever been before and must use everything she’s learned to stay alive and save her mentor.

The second book in the series is called A Dream So Dark. This book picks up where the last book left off with Alice still reeling from the events of that story. She finds herself grounded until graduation, but the world of Wonderland needs her as her friends are in danger. She will once again travel across the Veil and venture into Wonderland where a new player is using Nightmare creatures to not only influence the living but raise the dead.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of L.L. McKinney Books

Leave a Reply