Laurence Shames
Laurence Shames is an American author of humourous mystery novels and non-fiction books. He writes the Key West Mysteries series. In prior careers, Laurence has been a NYC cab driver, lounge singer, furniture mover, lifeguard, dishwasher, gym teacher and shoe salesman. Following these failed careers, he moved to writing on a full-time basis in 1976. Since then, he has made four different New York Times Bestseller lists, all writing under different pen names (and none of which were his own).

Although Laurence Shames has been writing since 1976, his first book to be published under his own name was a non-fiction book entitled The Big Time: The Harvard Business School’s Most Successful Class & How it Shaped America. His first novel under his own name was Florida Straits, which was published in 1992. Below is a list of Laurence Shames’ books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Laurence Shames releases a new book at

Publication Order of Key West Mysteries Books

Florida Straits (1992)Description / Buy at
Scavenger Reef (1994)Description / Buy at
Sunburn (1995)Description / Buy at
Tropical Depression (1996)Description / Buy at
Virgin Heat (1997)Description / Buy at
Mangrove Squeeze (1998)Description / Buy at
Welcome to Paradise (1999)Description / Buy at
The Naked Detective (2000)Description / Buy at
Shot on Location (2013)Description / Buy at
Chickens (2014)Description / Buy at
Tropical Swap (2014)Description / Buy at
Key West Luck (2015)Description / Buy at
One Strange Date (2017)Description / Buy at
One Big Joke (2017)Description / Buy at
Nacho Unleashed (2019)Description / Buy at
The Paradise Gig (2020)Description / Buy at
Key West Normal (2021)Description / Buy at
Relative Humidity (2023)Description / Buy at
Sunset Bluff (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Bad Twin (As: Gary Troup) (2006)Description / Buy at
The Angels' Share (2012)Description / Buy at
Money Talks (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Big Time (1986)Description / Buy at
The Hunger for More (1989)Description / Buy at
Not Fade Away (2003)Description / Buy at
Living Large (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lost Books

Endangered Species (By: Catherine Hapka) (2005)Description / Buy at
Secret Identity (By: Catherine Hapka) (2005)Description / Buy at
Signs of Life (By: Frank T. Thompson) (2006)Description / Buy at
Bad Twin (As: Gary Troup) (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Natural Suspect(2001)Description / Buy at

Notes: Natural Suspect is a collaborative novel with contributions from William Bernhardt, Leslie Glass, Gini Hartzmark, John Katzenbach, John Lescroart, Bonnie MacDougal, Phillip Margolin, Brad Meltzer, Michael Palmer and Lisa Scottoline. Not Fade Away was co-authored by Peter Barton. Living Large was co-authored by Michael S. Berman.

If You Like Laurence Shames Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Laurence Shames Books

Leave a Reply