Phillip Margolin is an American author of legal thrillers. Because he was such a fan of Perry Mason, he got into law, graduated from New York University School of Law and worked as a defense attorney for 25 years. He lists one of his favourite books as War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. His series characters are Amanda Jaffe and Brad Miller.

Phillip Margolin dipped his toe into the world of fiction in 1974 with a short story that was published in Mike Shayne Mystery Magazine, titled The Girl in the Yellow Bikini. He would go on to publish his first novel, Heartstone in 1978. Below is a list of Phillip Margolin’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Phillip Margolin releases a new book at

Publication Order of Amanda Jaffe Books

Publication Order of Brad Miller / Dana Cutler Books

Executive Privilege (2008)Description / Buy at
Supreme Justice (2010)Description / Buy at
Capitol Murder (2012)Description / Buy at
Sleight of Hand (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Robin Lockwood Books

The Third Victim (2018)Description / Buy at
The Perfect Alibi (2019)Description / Buy at
A Reasonable Doubt (2020)Description / Buy at
A Matter of Life and Death (2021)Description / Buy at
The Darkest Place (2022)Description / Buy at
Murder at Black Oaks (2022)Description / Buy at
Betrayal (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Heartstone (1978)Description / Buy at
The Last Innocent Man (1988)Description / Buy at
Gone, But Not Forgotten (1993)Description / Buy at
After Dark (1995)Description / Buy at
The Burning Man (1996)Description / Buy at
The Undertaker's Widow (1998)Description / Buy at
Sleeping Beauty (2004)Description / Buy at
Lost Lake (2005)Description / Buy at
The House on Pine Terrace (2009)Description / Buy at
Worthy Brown's Daughter (2014)Description / Buy at
Woman with a Gun (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Madison Kincaid Books

(with Ami Margolin Rome)

Vanishing Acts (With: Ami Margolin Rome) (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Legal Briefs(1998)Description / Buy at
Natural Suspect(2001)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories 2010(2010)Description / Buy at
A Study in Sherlock(2011)Description / Buy at

Note: The Madison Kincaid series is co-authored by Ami Margolin Rome. Natural Suspect and No Rest for the Dead are collaborative novels that include collaborations by several other authors.

If You Like Phillip Margolin Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Phillip Margolin Books

3 Responses to “Order of Phillip Margolin Books”

  1. Janie Scott: 6 days ago

    I just finished ready Murder at Black Oaks and on the paper cover it said it was about a D.A. named Francis Hardy but in the actual book he was called Frank McNellie. That was confusing and I never saw that name Hardy in the book.


  2. Lori Rawson: 1 year ago

    I am new to Margolin’s writing but love his books! I have read Grisham and a number of other crime novel writers, and like how he incorporates everything! A new fave writer!!


  3. jonettarisonmason: 6 years ago

    I really liked the character Robin Lockwood are there any more books with her in them. I am new to Phillip Margolin books. Just finished The Third Victim


Leave a Reply