Lin Anderson is a Scottish author and screenwriter who is best known for her creation, the Rhona MacLeod series of forensic scientist crime novels. Her fathaer was a detective so crime novels were a natural extension of the life that she already knew.

In addition to her work as a screenwriter and author, Lin is a huge fan of the film Braveheart starring Mel Gibson. She has seen the film many times in her life and even wrote a book about the making of it called Braveheart: From Hollywood to Holyrood. Before her writing career took off she worked as a teacher of maths and computing at George Watson’s College in Edinburgh.

Get notified when Lin Anderson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Rhona MacLeod Books

Driftnet (2003)Description / Buy at
Blood Red Roses (2005)Description / Buy at
Torch (2006)Description / Buy at
Deadly Code (2006)Description / Buy at
Dark Flight (2007)Description / Buy at
Easy Kill (2008)Description / Buy at
Final Cut (2009)Description / Buy at
The Reborn (2010)Description / Buy at
Picture Her Dead (2011)Description / Buy at
Paths of the Dead (2014)Description / Buy at
The Special Dead (2015)Description / Buy at
None But the Dead (2016)Description / Buy at
Follow the Dead (2017)Description / Buy at
Sins of the Dead (2019)Description / Buy at
Time for the Dead (2019)Description / Buy at
The Innocent Dead (2020)Description / Buy at
The Killing Tide (2022)Description / Buy at
The Wild Coast (2023)Description / Buy at
Whispers of the Dead (2024)Description / Buy at
Blood Red Roses is a prequel.

Publication Order of Patrick de Courvoisier Mystery Books

The Case of the Black Pearl (2014)Description / Buy at
The Case of the Missing Madonna (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Blaze Dog Detective Books

(with Donald McKay)

The Magic Flag Mystery (With: Donald McKay) (2020)Description / Buy at
The Dinosaur Mystery (With: Donald McKay) (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Party House (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 8(2011)Description / Buy at
Bloody Scotland(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Lin Anderson Books, You’ll Love…

Driftnet is the first book in the Rhona Macleod series of books. Rhona is a forensic scientist that is called to the scene of a brutally mutilated teenage boy. This case holds a special place to her as the mutilated boy she is set to investigate bares a shocking resemblance to the 17-year old son she gave up for adoption at birth. This fills Rhona with guilt and she sets out to find this boy’s killer while also searching for the son she never knew, hoping they aren’t the same person.

Another popular book in the series is called Dark Flight. This is the fourth book in the series and sees Rhona investigating a truly dark crime. A mother and grandmother are murdered and an African talisman is found at the scene, the talisman is made from the bones of a child. The mother’s own child, Stephen, is missing and Rhona will need to decipher the meaning of the talisman in order to save the boy before he becomes part of another archaic ritual.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Lin Anderson Books

Leave a Reply