Lucy Tan is an American author of literary fiction novels. Lucy grew up in the New Jersey suburbs, although she has spent a lot of time in New York City and Shanghai. Her fiction explores these areas as well as others, and focus on characters whose homes are in flux. Lucy has an MFA in creative writing, which she earned from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She lives in Seattle, Washington.

Lucy Tan made her debut as a published author in 2018 with the novel What We Were Promised. Below is a list of Lucy Tan’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Lucy Tan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

What We Were Promised (2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Lucy Tan Books, You’ll Love…

Lucy Tan Synopsis: What We Were Promised by Lucy Tan is a standalone novel. After years of chasing the American dream, the Zhen family has returned home to China. Settling into a luxurious serviced apartment in Shanghai, Wei, Lina, and their daughter, Karen, join an elite community of Chinese-born, Western-educated professionals who have returned to a much different city.

One morning, in the eighth tower of Lanson Suites, Lina discovers that a treasured ivory bracelet has gone missing. This incident sets off a wave of unease that reverberates throughout the Zhen household. Wei, a marketing strategist, bows under the guilt of not having engaged in nobler work. Meanwhile, Lina, lonely in her new life of leisure, assumes the modern moniker taitai – a housewife who does no housework at all. She is haunted by the circumstances surrounding her arranged marriage to Wei and her lingering feelings for his brother, Qiang. Sunny, the family’s housekeeper, is a keen but silent observer of these tensions. An unmarried woman trying to carve a place for herself in society, she understands the power of well-kept secrets. When Qiang reappears in Shanghai after decades on the run with a local gang, the family must finally come to terms with the past and its indelible mark on their futures.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Lucy Tan Books

Leave a Reply