Martha Waters (Photo Credit: Jade Wilson)
Martha Waters is an American author of historical romantic comedy novels. She grew up in South Florida, reading British children’s books and scribbling in her notebooks. She studied history and international studies at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and earned her Master’s degree in library science. During the day, Martha works as a children’s librarian in Maine. She loves sundresses, gin cocktails, and traveling.

Martha Waters made her debut in 2020 with the novel To Have and to Hoax. Below is a list of Martha Waters’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Martha Waters releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Regency Vows Books

To Have and to Hoax (2020)Description / Buy at
To Love and to Loathe (2021)Description / Buy at
To Marry and to Meddle (2022)Description / Buy at
To Swoon and to Spar (2023)Description / Buy at
To Woo and to Wed (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Martha Waters Books, You’ll Love…

Martha Waters Synopsis: To Have and to Hoax by Martha Waters is the first book in the Regency Vows series. Five years ago, Lady Violet Grey and Lord James Audley met, fell in love, and got married. Four years ago, they had a fight of epic proportions, and have barely spoken since.

Their once-passionate love match has been reduced to one of cold, detached politeness. But when Violet receives a letter that James has been thrown from his horse and rendered unconscious at their country estate, she races to be by his side – only to discover him alive and well at a tavern, and completely unaware of her concern. She’s outraged. He’s confused. And the distance between them has never been more apparent.

Wanting to teach her estranged husband a lesson, Violet decides to feign an illness of her own. James quickly sees through it, but he decides to play along in an ever-escalating game of manipulation, featuring actors masquerading as doctors, threats of Swiss sanitariums, faux mistresses – and a lot of flirtation between a husband and wife who might feel as negatively towards eachother as they believe. Will the two be able to overcome four years of hurt or will they continue to deny the chemistry that exists between them?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Martha Waters Books

Leave a Reply