May Cobb is an American author of thriller novels. She is also a freelance writer, based out of Austin, Texas. Her writing has appeared in such publications as The Washington Post, The Rumpus, Austin Monthly, and Texas Highways Magazine. She was inspired by the jazz musician Rahsaan Roland Kirk, who defied the odds in order to play the music he dreamed of playing. May is married and has a son.

May Cobb made her debut as a novelist in 2018 with the novel Big Woods. Below is a list of May Cobb’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when May Cobb releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Big Woods (2018)Description / Buy at
The Hunting Wives (2021)Description / Buy at
My Summer Darlings (2022)Description / Buy at
A Likeable Woman (2023)Description / Buy at
The Hollywood Assistant (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Darcy Takes Over (2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like May Cobb Books, You’ll Love…

May Cobb Synopses: Big Woods is a standalone novel by May Cobb. The year is 1989 in the sleepy town of Longview, Texas, when ten-year-old Lucy disappears. Her parents, the police, and the local community all prepare for the worst. They assume it won’t be long before her body is found in Big Woods – the same as the other unsolved kidnappings.

But Lucy’s fourteen-year-old sister, Leah, still has hope. After receiving a strange computer message from Lucy, Leah begins her own investigation. As she searches, Leah meets a reclusive widow named Sylvia who may hold the key to finding Lucy – if only she can build up the courage to come forward.

The Hunting Wives is a standalone novel by May Cobb. Sophie O’Neill left behind a successful career and the stressful, competitive life of Chicago to settle down with her young family in a small town in Texas. It seems like the perfect life with a beautiful home in an idyllic rural community. But Sophie soon realizes that life is now too quiet, and she’s feeling bored and restless.

Then she meets Margot Banks, an alluring socialite who is part of an elite clique secretly known as the Hunting Wives. Sophie finds herself absolutely drawn to Margot and swept into her mysterious world of late-night target practice and dangerous partying. As Sophie’s curiosity turns into full-blown obsession, she slips farther away from the safety of her family and deeper into this nest of vipers.

When the body of a teenage girl is discovered in the woods where the Hunting Wives meet, Sophie finds herself in the middle of a murder investigation and her life spiraling out of control.

My Summer Darlings is a standalone title by May Cobb. Jen Hansen, Kittie Spears, and Cynthia Nichols have been friends since childhood. They are now approaching 40 and their lives have changed, but their East Texas hometown has not. They maintain their sanity by drinking wine in the afternoons, gossiping about other women in the neighborhood, and bonding over the heartache of their own encroaching middle age and raising ungrateful teens.

Then Will Harding comes to town, moving into one of the neighborhood’s grandest homes. Mysterious and charming, he seems like the answer to each woman’s prayers. He’s a source of fascination for Jen, Kittie, and Cynthia, but none of them are ready for the way Will disrupts their lives.

As Will grows closer with each of the women, their fascination morphs into obsession, threatening their friendships and their families. When he abruptly pulls away, each woman scrambles to discover the source of his affection. But what they’ll learn is far more devious and deadly than any of them could have ever imagined.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of May Cobb Books

Leave a Reply