Melissa Albert is a fantasy writer best known for writing The Hazel Wood series.

In addition to her work as an author, Albert is also the founding editor of the Barnes & Noble Teen Blog. Also for Barnes & Noble, she works as the managing editor of She has also written extensively as a freelance writer. Melissa has written for numerous publications including McSweeney’s, Time Out Chicago, and MTV. Melissa grew up in Illinois, but now makes her home in Brooklyn where she lives and works.

Get notified when Melissa Albert releases a new book at

Publication Order of Hazel Wood Books

The Hazel Wood (2018)Description / Buy at
The Night Country (2020)Description / Buy at
Tales from the Hinterland (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Our Crooked Hearts (2022)Description / Buy at
The Bad Ones (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Melissa Albert Books, You’ll Love…

The Hazel Wood follows Alice, a seventeen-year-old girl, and her mother. They have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, running away from the bad luck that seems to find them everywhere. Alice’s grandmother is a known author of a book of pitch-dark fairy tales who has just passed away at her estate known as the Hazel Wood. Alice soon realizes that they have been running from bad luck for a long time, but she doesn’t know yet how bad their luck can get. Her mother is kidnapped by someone claiming to be from the Hinterland, the supernatural world where her grandmother’s book stories were set. Her mother left behind a message that told her to stay away from the Hazel Wood, but Alice isn’t going to listen. She allies herself with a classmate, Ellery Finch, who is a Hinterland superfan and knows everything there is to know about her grandmother’s stories in order to get her mother back.

The story follows up with The Night Country. The book follows the continuing adventures of Alice and Ellery as they learn that the events from the first book were only the beginning of their journey. With the addition of new characters, this book has been called Albert’s Deathly Hallows.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Melissa Albert Books

Leave a Reply