Nancy Herriman is an American author who is best known as the author of the A Mystery of Old San Francisco series of books. She has also written books in the Bess Ellyott Mystery series.

Herriman had a career in engineering that she left to pursue writing and family. She has two children and began writing from home, and never looked back. She is a former winner of the Romance Writers of America’s Daphne du Maurier award. She and her family spent many years in Arizona, but she now makes her home in Ohio where she grew up. In addition to writing and being a mother, Nancy enjoys singing with various choral groups, and eating dark chocolate.

Get notified when Nancy Herriman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Bess Ellyott Mystery Books

Searcher of the Dead (2018)Description / Buy at
A Fall of Shadows (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Mystery Of Old San Francisco Books

No Comfort for the Lost (2015)Description / Buy at
No Pity for the Dead (2016)Description / Buy at
No Quiet Among the Shadows (2020)Description / Buy at
No Darkness as like Death (2021)Description / Buy at
No Refuge from the Grave (2022)Description / Buy at
No Justice for the Deceived (2023)Description / Buy at
No Rest for the Departed (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Irish Healer (2012)Description / Buy at
Josiah's Treasure (2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Nancy Herriman Books, You’ll Love…

No Comfort for the Lost is the first book in Nancy’s A Mystery of Old San Francisco series of books. The book focuses on a British-born woman named Celia Davies who married an Irishman that took her to San Francisco. Shortly after, he disappeared and was presumed dead. Celia is determined to make things work and partnered with her half-Chinese cousin Barbara and her opinionated housekeeper Addie to open a free medical clinic for women who have nowhere else to go. One day, one of her patients is murdered and her brother-in-law is accused of the crime. Detective Nicholas Greaves is on the case, but he’ll have help in the form of Celia who keeps getting herself into dangerous situations.

Nancy also writes the character of Bess Ellyott and the first book is called Searcher of the Dead. Bess is an herbalist in Tudor England. She’s a widow and fled London after the murder of her husband. She knows her husband was murdered, but not who did it. When her brother-in-law is found dangling from a tree, she knows that it’s no suicide. Bess is convinced that there is a killer out to destroy her family.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Nancy Herriman Books

Leave a Reply