Nickolas Butler is an American author of literary fiction novels. He grew up in Wisconsin, and attended the University of Wisconsin-Madison and the University of Iowa Writer’s Workshop. His work has appeared many publications, including Ploughshares, The Christian Science Monitor, The Kenyon Review Online, Narrative, The Progressive, and others. Nickolas has worked as a meatpacker, a Burger King maintenance man, a liquor store clerk, a coffee roaster, an office manager, an author escort, an inn-keeper, and other odd jobs. He is married with two children and lives on 16 acres of lands in rural Wisconsin.

Nickolas Butler made his debut as a novelist in 2014 with the novel Shotgun Lovesongs. Below is a list of Nickolas Butler’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Nickolas Butler releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

In Western Counties (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Beneath the Bonfire (2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Nickolas Baker Books, You’ll Love…

Nickolas Butler Synopsis: The Hearts of Men is a standalone novel by Nickolas Butler. Camp Chippewa, 1962. 13-year-old Nelson Doughty – social outcast and overachiever – is the Bugler, sounding the reveille proudly each morning. Yet this particular summer marks the beginning of an uncertain and tenuous friendship with a popular boy named Jonathan. Over the years, Nelson, irrevocably scarred from the Vietnam War, becomes Scoutmaster of Camp Chippewa, while Jonathan marries, divorces, and turns his father’s business into a highly profitable company. And when something unthinkable happens at a camp get-together with Nelson as Scoutmaster and Jonathan’s teenage grandson and daughter-in-law as campers, the aftermath demonstrates the depths – and the limits – of Nelson’s selflessness and bravery.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Nickolas Butler Books

Leave a Reply