Patrick deWitt
Patrick deWitt is a Canadian author of literary fiction and historical fiction novels. Patrick was born on British Columbia’s Vancouver Island, and has also lived in California, Washington and Oregon, where he currently resides with his wife and son. Besides being a novelist, he has worked as a labourer, a clerk, a dishwasher, and a bartender. Patrick has also written a screenplay, entitled Terri.

Patrick deWitt made his debut as a novelist in 2009 with Ablutions. The novel was listed as a New York Times Editors’ Choice. Below is a list of Patrick deWitt’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Ablutions(2009) Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
The Sisters Brothers(2011) Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
Undermajordomo Minor(2015) Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Bastard(2016) Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price

If You Like Patrick deWitt Books, You’ll Love…

Patrick deWitt Synopsis: Ablutions is the debut novel of Patrick deWitt. A nameless bartender tends a decaying bar in Hollywood and takes notes for a book about his clientele. Initially, he is morbidly amused by watching the regulars roll in and fall into their nightly oblivion, pitying them and their loneliness. In hopes of uncovering their secrets and motives, he forms tentative friendships with them. He also knocks back pills indiscriminately and sucks down gallons of Jameson’s. But as his tenure at the bar continues, he begins to lose himself, trapped by addiction and indecision. When his wife leaves him, he begins a series of random sexual encounters and a downward spiral of self-damage and irrational violence. To cleanse himself and save his soul, he attempts to escape…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Patrick deWitt Books