Priscilla Royal is an author of medieval and historical fiction. Royal grew up in New Westminster, British Columbia, but is now a native of Washington State where she has retired to write medieval mysteries full time.

Royal attended San Francisco State University where she graduated with a BA in world literature. She would work in federal civil service for years, but always maintained her love of writing. In the year 2000, she retired from her work in federal civil service and started writing full time. She prides herself on finding small historical details that make her historical fiction novels more realistic than others in the genre.

Get notified when Priscilla Royal releases a new book at

Publication Order of Medieval Mystery Books

Wine of Violence (2003)Description / Buy at
Tyrant of the Mind (2004)Description / Buy at
Sorrow Without End (2006)Description / Buy at
Justice for the Damned (2007)Description / Buy at
Forsaken Soul (2008)Description / Buy at
Chambers of Death (2009)Description / Buy at
Valley of Dry Bones (2010)Description / Buy at
A Killing Season (2011)Description / Buy at
Sanctity of Hate (2012)Description / Buy at
Covenant with Hell (2013)Description / Buy at
Satan's Lullaby (2015)Description / Buy at
Land of Shadows (2016)Description / Buy at
The Proud Sinner (2017)Description / Buy at
Wild Justice (2018)Description / Buy at
The Twice-Hanged Man (2019)Description / Buy at
Elegy to Murder (2020)Description / Buy at
Prayers of the Dead (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Favas Can Be Fatal (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bound by Mystery(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Priscilla Royal Books, You’ll Love…

Wine of Violence is the first book in the Medieval Mysteries series. This book is set in the summer of 1270 in Egnaldn. This is the book in which we are introduced to the young Eleanor of Wynethorpe who is appointed the new prioress of the Tyndal priory. Soon after she takes her position, a monk is brutally murdered while at the same time Brother Thomas is sent to investigate the Order’s shaky finances. The new prioress will have her hands full as she copes with the violence and greed to find the killer.

Satan’s Lullaby is a popular book by Royal. The book is set in the autumn of 1278 where Prioress Eleanor is experiencing dark times in Norfolk. The head of her order has sent her own brother, Father Etienne Davoir, from France to Tyndal Priory to inspect everything from the roofs to their morals. The case is serious as it is unlike them to send someone from Rome unless it was. Prioress Eleanor knows something is amiss and things take a turn when Davoir’s sick clerk dies form a potion sent by Sister Anne.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Priscilla Royal Books

Leave a Reply