Robert Ryan is a British author of historical mystery novels. He writes the Morning, Noon and Night as well as the Dr. Watson series. Robert was born in Liverpool but moved to London when he was eighteen to attend university. He lectured in natural sciences for several years before moving into journalism in the mid-1980s, first with The Face and then the Dylan Jones-edited Arena. During this time, he also wrote for The Daily Telegraph, US GQ, US Conde Nast Traveler, Esquire and The Sunday Times. Robert Ryan lives in North London with his wife and three children.

Robert Ryan made his debut as a published novelist in 2002 with the novel Early One Morning. Below is a list of Robert Ryan’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Robert Ryan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Dr. Watson Books

Dead Man's Land (2012)Description / Buy at
The Dead Can Wait (2014)Description / Buy at
A Study in Murder (2015)Description / Buy at
The Case of the Six Watsons (2015)Description / Buy at
The Sign of Fear (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Morning, Noon & Night Books

Early One Morning (2002)Description / Buy at
The Blue Noon (2003)Description / Buy at
Night Crossing (2004)Description / Buy at
After Midnight (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sam Wylde Books

(as R.J. Bailey)

Safe From Harm (2016)Description / Buy at
Nobody Gets Hurt (2017)Description / Buy at
Feel No Pain (2017)Description / Buy at
Winner Kills All (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Vince Piper Books

(as Tom Neale)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of R.J. Bailey Collections

(as R.J. Bailey)

If You Like Robert Ryan Books, You’ll Love…

Robert Ryan Synopsis: Underdogs is a standalone title by Robert Ryan. The city of Seattle burned down in 1889. When it was rebuilt, much of the old city remained, buried beneath the modern streets. Nobody really knows what’s down there any more… Now a suspected psycho and the eight-year-old girl he has taken hostage during a bungled heist are about to find out, when they crash through the floor of an abandoned warehouse into a street no one has walked down for a hundred years. Pursued by an ex-Vietnam Tunnel Rat brought in by the Seattle PD – a man with one or two mental problems of his own – Hilton Badcock has no choice but to drag young Ali further into the underground maze in search of a way out. But the deeper they go into this strange, secret world, the weirder and more dangerous things get…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Robert Ryan Books

Leave a Reply