Sheldon Russell is an American author of historical mystery and western novels. He writes the Hook Runyon series. Prior to becoming a novelist, Sheldon was a public school English teacher. He was also professor emeritus at the University of Central Oklahoma. He has won the 2006 Langum Prize for Excellence in American Historical Fiction and the 2007 Oklahoma Book Award for Fiction. He lives in Guthrie, Oklahoma.

Sheldon Russell made his debut as a published novelist in 1994 with the standalone title Empire. Below is a list of Sheldon Russell’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Sheldon Russell releases a new book at

Publication Order of Hook Runyon Mystery Books

The Yard Dog (2009)Description / Buy at
The Insane Train (2010)Description / Buy at
Dead Man's Tunnel (2012)Description / Buy at
The Hanging of Samuel Ash (2013)Description / Buy at
The Bridge Troll Murders (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Empire (1994)Description / Buy at
The Savage Trail (1998)Description / Buy at
Requiem At Dawn (2000)Description / Buy at
Dreams to Dust (2006)Description / Buy at
The Dig: In Search of Coronado's Treasure (2013)Description / Buy at
A Forgotten Evil (2019)Description / Buy at
A Particular Madness (2021)Description / Buy at
Listen (2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sheldon Russell Books, You’ll Love…

Sheldon Russell Synopses: The Savage Trail is a historical western novel by Sheldon Russell. Five people – Dr. McReynolds, Nurse Cromley, Corporal Renfro, Two Birds, and Lieutenant Sheets – work together amidst the war-torn hardships of the Oklahoma Territory to search for a mysterious treasure and brave the brutal and harsh frontier in order to survive.

Requiem at Dawn is a novel by Sheldon Russell. Ordered to establish a redoubt at Cimarron Crossing, military surgeon Doc McReyolds reluctantly leads his company to Deep Hole Creek, aware that a band of Cheyenne warriors is preparing to defend their territory to the death.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sheldon Russell Books

Leave a Reply